Day 25 - ending at Meade, KS - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2013

Day 25 - ending at Meade, KS

Posted via email Sat Jun 8 05:11:02 2013 PDT

Woke to the alarm at 5:00am. Temperature overnight was just right for sleeping in the tent. Packed up. Only the tent's ground cloth was wet. Had Pop Tarts and Beanee Weenees for breakfast as I watched the fish stir up the lake. Left at 7:27am.

My destination for today was Meade. To use the highways, I'd have to go south, then west, then north, and finally west again - all on US-160. At 8:15am I was done going south. Turned west toward the town of Protection. Arrived there at 9:07am. Stopped at Lucky's (gas station/convenience store) for mini chocolate-covered donuts, two "home-made" cookies, and coffee. Left at 9:35am.

At 10:44am, I was close to the intersection of US-160 with US-183/KS-34. Took a break to call my folks to wish them a happy 60th wedding anniversary. Enjoyed talking with them. I've been surprised with the cell phone/BlackBerry service coverage in areas around here I consider pretty remote.

Arrived in Ashland at 11:36am. Stopped at The Ranch House for lunch: steak sandwich, chips, and Dr Pepper. Since the soda was in a bottle, I took what was left with me for drinking later on down the road.

Started getting back into hills, but the wind was with me (from the southeast). Was at the go-north section at 2:34pm. Shortly after, I was in a "sink", and not happy to read I would have to climb back out of this 100-foot hole.

At 3:50pm, I made my final turn west. I was excited that it looked flat. It just looked that way - it wasn't flat. Nineteen miles to go. These hills were wearing me down. Then, just like yesterday, I was out of them - at 5:30pm with eight miles to go. What a difference! I was flying - double-digit speeds, with help from the tailwind.

I arrived at Meade's city park at 6:18pm. Kris had emailed that camping is allowed there free for one night's stay. The park looked very nice. But it also looked like it would rain anytime now, so I opted for a motel room. Stopped at Circle-O Motel and RV Park, getting into room #4 at 6:30pm. Of course, the rain bypassed us.

Walked across the street to Bob's Drive-In for supper: fish sandwich and large root beer float. Got a to-go coffee as I left.

Worked on report. Worked on bike (three spokes). Took shower. Went to bed hoping for overnight rain, to justify my motel room stay.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $3.74 (snacks, coffee) + $7.73 plus $2 (lunch) + $45 plus $5 (motel) + $8.67 plus $2 (supper) + $1.52 (coffee to-go) = $75.66.

Day 25 - Coldwater, KS to Meade, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ breakfast +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ heading west on US-160 - Comanche County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ mid-morning snack break at Lucky's #6 - Protection, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ The Ranch House - Ashland, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Pioneer Krier Museum - Ashland, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ yellow flowers with a pink flower - Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Red Hills area along US-160 - Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ as far as I went (walking) on the road to St. Jacob's Well - Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ violet flowers with a small blue flower - Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ view looking east from the Big Basin pull-off - Clark County, KS +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 3
Steve H71St. Jacob’s well, You Tubed it and nice video of divers exploring this. Thanks for posting, never knew of this.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
On a later trip I actually made it to the well. https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/kansas/day-14-ending-at-ashland-ks/
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Steve H71To Jeff TeelVery nice
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looks like gypsum to me - Clark County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ City Park - Meade, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ supper at Bob's Drive-In - Meade, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 1,003 miles (1,614 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0