Day 12 - ending at Springfield, MO - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2013

Day 12 - ending at Springfield, MO

rode on Frisco Highline Trail

Posted via email Sun May 26 13:31:02 2013 PDT

Woke up at 7:11am to the sound of thunder. Checked weather on TV and found it was a thin line of showers moving past, with little rain. Went down to the breakfast area of the motel for a cup of coffee and a sweet roll. A slow-moving cat was there, enjoying its breakfast beneath the table.

Worked on report for a while, then packed the bike. Got to talking with the motel owner. He showed me a bike he had that I love - a made-in-the-USA Huffy three speed! If my Belleville wasn't working out as well as it is, I may have been switching rigs!

Left, with good wishes, at 11:35am. Back on MO-13, heading to Bolivar, then Springfield, to my sister Laurie and her husband Bill's house. At 12:50pm I stopped to eat a crunch bar. Turned off at the first exit to Bolivar, hoping to find a place to eat. Came to the overpass start (actually end) of the Frisco Highline Trail at 2:10pm. Stopped at trailhead to send out report.

Laurie was wanting me to take the trail - rather than MO-13 - to Springfield. That would be 35 miles, versus 24 miles, but fewer hills. Decided to go for the trail, heading off at 2:41pm. Still passed no place to eat. Got to wondering if I had any cookies left. Decided to stop and check at 3:30pm. This involved removing the clothes bag off the bike to get to my lunch box. Score! I had half a bag of ginger snaps left. So, at a newly-installed bench on the La Petite Gemme Prairie, I ate a can of Beanee Weanees and had my fill of ginger snaps. Called Laurie to let her know my ETA, and was back on the trail at 4:13pm.

Took an eight-minute nap at 6:25pm on another new bench. It was getting dark when I arrived north of Willard, where the trail is paved. At the Willard trailhead I walked across the street to Pizano's Pizza for a Dr Pepper with lots of ice. Oh, so good!

Left at 9:19pm for the final push to Springfield. Rode initially on the trail with my lights on, but later turned them off, riding toward "the light at the end of the tunnel" (of trees).

Arrived at the Springfield trailhead of the Frisco Highline Trail at 10:13pm. Took off east on Kearney Street. Being so late, traffic was light. Continued on to Grant Avenue, where I turned north. Mostly downhill, with one uphill got me to Bill and Laurie's at 11:10pm.

I was welcomed with a bowl of ice cream, the guest bedroom, and the shower all ready for me. Worked on report a little, but was falling asleep by 12:50am.

I'm taking tomorrow off, so plan on sleeping in. It's good to be here.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $1.07 (soda).

Day 12 - Humansville, MO to Springfield, MO
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ kitchen area for The Gazebo Inn - Humansville, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ motel cat +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ I've got their interest +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ grabbing a map - Bolivar Trailhead of the Frisco Highline Trail +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the back wall at Teters Floral Products has been repaired from its storm damage in 2009 - Bolivar, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ information along the Frisco Highline Trail - Polk County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ lunch on the La Petite Gemme Prairie - Polk County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ afternoon along the Frisco Highline Trail - Polk County, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Pizano's Pizza serves a cold Dr Pepper - Willard, MO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 534 miles (859 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0