May 14, 1986 - Skipton to Llandudno (by train and bike) - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 14, 1986

May 14, 1986 - Skipton to Llandudno (by train and bike)

IT'S GETTING WORSE all the time: I never know what the date is. A relaxing evening watching Star Trek II after a relaxing day.

This morning I was downstairs by 8:20 am but the other Canadians had already eaten and were on their way. Jane and Jenny weren't down until 8:35 am so we finished eating at the same time. They'd decided they were going to a muffler shop straightaway so they spoke to Mrs. Simpson about getting in touch with one. I, on the other hand, went up to pack the rest of my things, put them on the bike then was waved off by Mrs. Simpson. On the way into town, Jane and Jenny waved as they drove to the garage.

My leg was sore so I went to the train station to ask about a train and fare to Manchester. It was only £6.30, and the train was just sitting there so I popped my bike into the baggage car, grabbed a seat, and we were off. I had to change at Leeds and again I was lucky that a train was two minutes from leaving for Manchester.

I wasn't too impressed going through these areas. There was football graffiti, garbage, soot on everything, garbage dumps, and sewage treatment plants. The sights weren't great, but the train was. Though it was old, it just flew through the kilometres.

As we entered Manchester I decided that I really didn't feel like cycling through this city, so I stayed on and paid another £6.40 which got me to Llandudno. Once we were out of the city, all was fine. The countryside was beautiful even though it was raining, plus, I could see the Irish Sea for most of the way.

Northern Wales is a British resort area. There are row upon row of caravans (hard-top camping trailers) and cottages. In all honesty, it looks as though it would be very unpleasant during peak season.

Upon arriving in Llandudno, it was pouring rain but for the first time, the place still looked good. I believe that since it is such a busy place in the summer, it pays to keep the town immaculate. The town was built during the Victorian era (perfect!) to be used as a resort town. So, there's nothing fake about it. It is what it is. And beautifully.

Lalndudno is on flat land between two peaks of rock. The Great Orme and the Small Orme. I walked up the larger one which gave a great view of Snowdonia, up the west coast, and down into town. On the way back downtown, I was even able to see Conwy Castle which I shall visit tomorrow, weather permitting. As soon as I started out this afternoon, the rain clouds left and out came the sun. I've done it again!

When I came back down the hill, I decided to stroll around downtown. I tried to cash a cheque but banks close at 3:30 pm. I tried to get food but restaurants are closed from 2 to 7 pm. So, I went out onto the pier for a great view of all the old Victorian buildings along the shore. Just like in the National Geographic book.

I finally got some chips and came to the B&B. This place is weird - hopefully because it is the first season. When he was showing me the room, he said the price was £7.50,  or £10 with a full dinner. Then he said the room had tea-making facilities and if we wanted more tea we could pay 20p per bag. Back downstairs I said I'd go downtown to find food. He said his wife could make me a sandwich... 'for a moderate price'.

Mr. Simpson seemed slightly pushy. Perhaps the idea of B&B is to make money, but it doesn't have to be so blatantly obvious. I much preferred Mrs. Simpson in Skipton where you feel you're an invited guest. Tea and scones were served in the lounge at 7 pm. If you don't provide the wonderful service, you don't have to advertise that you sell everything under the sun. I was going to give a gentle suggestion on the day I left but decided that when I sign the guest book I'll leave no comment. I'll probably have to pay for the ink! (NB - They're very kind but it's just that they should learn a few unwritten rules in the business... soon.) I won't be back next time. I'm not sure if I'll move on tomorrow. It depends.

Tomorrow I'd like to sleep in, eat, sleep more, cash cheques, then cycle to Conwy Castle and perhaps some National Trust if anything looks good. The weather could change all but the Castle.

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 441 km (274 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0