May 15, 1986 - Llandudno Exploring - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 15, 1986

May 15, 1986 - Llandudno Exploring

WELL, I DID what I set out to do. I got up at 8:57 am and made my way downstairs. I had a good meal and spoke with the three Scots. They were all retired and were taking a driving holiday in the region. The man had done quite a bit of cycling when he was younger.

I came upstairs to have a bath but there was no plug. I imagine it's usually more expensive to have a bath than take a shower. As my room had been absolutely frigid, I had a good long shower to get the cold out of my bones. As I sit in the room looking over material about the region, I was so cold I couldn't stand it any longer so I asked to be moved to a warmer room. At least they allowed that at no further cost!

I am determined to take a trip some day to Scotland only. The other visitors swore that the most beautiful part of the country was the west coast. Perhaps if I can persuade some people back home, they'll want a trip in the area very soon - hopefully next year and I'll go, too.

By 10:30 am I was out on the bike which was really light as I'd left most of my luggage in the room. The wind was strong but the ride was beautiful. I got quite a few waves as I was flying the flag.

I arrived in Conwy and headed straight for the very impressive castle built by Edward I in 1283-89. I locked my bike by the Telford Bridge (1862) and walked up to the castle. I wasn't yet ready to go in so I walked along the shore until I could look back over the bay to the castle. This was my first photo. I returned to town and walked through it along the walls which went unbroken for five kilometres. The weather was great, the town beautiful, so, all of a sudden I was hungry, so I went to a grocery store where I bought... of course... fruit scones!

I eventually made my way back to the castle where I decided to join Cadw, which is similar to the National Trust, but only in Wales. Being a student, it only cost £4. Discounting the price to Conwy Castle... now only £3. I'll be to a few other properties so in three or four days it will have paid for itself.

The castle is incredible. Towers. Turrets. Walkways. Great views of the bay and town. I spent quite a while within its walls. On the way out, I bought a postcard to send home - they must hear all the news no matter how late.

I went back to the bike and thinking that I'd seen enough for the day, I cycled along the seashore back to Llandudno. Though the wind was strong, I didn't mind as the scenery was worth it. As I arrived back to town, I went past a golf course with the mountains in the background. It was on the town's west beach. I had to take a picture of a golfer on the tee to show Dad how incredible the courses (links) are here.

Back to the house, now in my new room, I washed some clothes. I set them on the heater but was asked to remove them 'so they wouldn't be scorched'. The heater was turned off and I put my clothes on the line except for what I'd wear when I went out for supper. I hopped in the shower to wash my hair when, no sooner had I turned the water on, but Mr. Simpson knocked on the door and asked me to take my clothes off the heater.

Shortly after 6 pm, I got dressed and just left. Nothing opened until 7 pm but I didn't want to wait here. I don't know if it's due to my age or because I'm on a bike, but I feel as though I don't matter (ie garbage) even though I pay the same rent. I give the place an F.

I wandered around downtown until 7 pm then, frozen solid, I went into a place that had lamb. When I went into the dining room, I told the waiter I was cold so he wheeled a heater right over beside me. I had lamb, salad and chips. Yum. There were six sauces to put on it so I used hot chili and garlic! A million rolls were included and it all came to £3.30! I was amazed and stuffed.

I went over to a dance bar which my waiter had recommended and I started talking to the manager who is an electrical engineer for the navy here. He'd been in Scarborough, Ontario, in 1982. It was getting late and I want to be on the road early tomorrow as I've a lot to see before arriving at my host's in Anglesey, so I walked back. I watched TV for two minutes but the only things on were news and Miss England so I came to bed.

It's 10:22 pm, I went sixteen kilometres on bike, it was sunny and cool (13 C), and I've at least 50 km tomorrow before arriving near Llanfair PG.

Today's ride: 16 km (10 miles)
Total: 457 km (284 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0