April 29 & 30, 1986 - Toronto Pearson to Heathrow to Leigh-on-Sea - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

April 30, 1986

April 29 & 30, 1986 - Toronto Pearson to Heathrow to Leigh-on-Sea

I HAVE FINALLY made it to England. Let's see if I can keep my eyes open as I write this. I am slightly tired.

I was dropped off at Pearson airport [by my Dad, Wayne Irvine] yesterday at 4:00 pm EDT so I had a few hours to spare. I walked through the airport a million times then finally went through security after checking in. Then I just sat and waited.

As I sat there I heard four other Torontonians talking about biking. In the next five and a half months they are going to travel UK, France, Switzerland, Austria, Germany, Yugoslavia, Italy, Spain, Portugal and Greece. There were empty seats on the plane so I was able to sit with them for the whole flight. We just traded information for hours.

After 6-1/2 hours of flying, we arrived at Heathrow airport at 9:00 am. It was incredible as we flew over Wales, then the heartland then descended into London. We had a great view of the winding Thames as we circled the city several times.

Customs was no problem. The five bikes were all on a cart that was wheeled right to the main terminal area. I helped them assemble their bikes but had to leave as I was incredibly tired. I just dragged the box to the Underground and paid £1.50 (about CAD$3) to arrive at Tower Hill Station. I don't know what the area is like, but it seemed a bit eerie for the two minute walk around the corner to Fenchurch Street station for BritRail. I paid £4.50 for second class one-way to Leigh-on-Sea. As I got onto the train, I looked out the window and as plain as day, there was the ancient Tower of London.

For the trip to Leigh, I tried to watch everything but I was so tired I fell asleep. When I woke up I asked the person beside me if we had passed Leigh - it was the next stop.

Finally at Leigh after 2-1/4 hours I called Uncle Frank who came to get me immediately. As I was waiting I took a picture up the hill behind the station and down the road to the River Thames.

We threw the box into the boot, with Uncle Frank driving from the wrong side of the car on the wrong side of the road, and came up to the house. [1, Linksway, Hadleigh, Benfleet, Essex]. Beautiful. Beautiful. I'll get some pictures in the morning. We ate a short while later and then I fell dead asleep listening to an AM radio station from London on my Walkman.

I only rested two hours then I re-assembled the bike [1985 Raleigh Olympian]. I gave Uncle Frank a Canada sticker and some pins for his grandchildren. Everything went together no problem. The final touch was the flag and the pole.

We had to drive to a grocery store for a few things then we returned where we watched TV. I looked at the paper, too, but who knows if Montreal [NHL hockey playoffs] won or lost? And what about tonight's game?

After supper we drove along the Thames. I saw the world's largest pier, refineries, and lots of beach huts. The towns all along here are so beautiful. They're 'story-bookish' and most have small but beautiful gardens. Daffodils are absolutely everywhere. We drove past Stuart's old school which had once been owned by Lord Nelson. Incredible. It was too dark for pictures.

We returned home a short while ago whereupon I pulled out my route so Uncle Frank could suggest a better route from here to Cambridge as I'm not starting in London and the CTC route is too long. The weather is supposed to be good for the next few days - like today at 19° C and sunny! I'll leave tomorrow morning after breakfast and expect to get to Saffron Walden in time to stop for the evening. And the camera will be out in full force.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0