May 1, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea to Cambridge - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 1, 1986

May 1, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea to Cambridge

I'M ON MY bed in the Suffolk Guest House in northern Cambridge. B&B costs £13.50 in a single. I'd gone to see some other places in the south including the YHA but I wasn't sure whether or not I'd come out alive!

This morning I slept until 9:15 am then ate breakfast with Uncle Frank and Aunt Marjorie. It was delicious and I was starving so I ate a lot. We talked for a while and I could have listened forever but I decided I'd best be on my way. By 11:00 am the gear was on the bike and I pedaled out of Hadleigh. I followed the directions Uncle Frank had given me so I had no problem at all. [I recall Uncle Frank telling me a few times to make sure to stay on the left side of the road. That was the last reminder as I set out from his place, when I subsequently headed out on the right as a car roared past blaring its horn for me to get onto my side of the road. At the end of the tour, back at Uncle Frank's the first thing he asked, with laughter, was if I had stuck to my side or the wrong side of the road for the remainder of the tour!]

All along the road were rolling hills of beautiful green crops. The roads were busy but the drivers were always good enough to give me room as they passed.

My first stop was in Chelmsford at noon to have a bit of lunch. I stopped alongside a small stream in a park adjacent to an amusement park on one side and a railway bridge on the other. As I sat there with the flag, a few people welcomed me to England and most seemed impressed by the maple leaf.

Soon I was back on my way with my next stop being Saffron Walden which was my originally planned route I had with me. I looked around the town for a while. In the centre of town were a 15 C cathedral and the remains of a Norman fortress. It was in ruins, but to think that it was 1 000 years old was impressive.

Seeing that it was only 3:30 pm, I decided to continue on my way. There was a long, upward climb out of town but it was the last for the day. The 24 km ride to Cambridge was flat and the wind was with me, so I flew.

All of a sudden I was in Cambridge. It's a beautiful city. Later this evening I'm going to walk downtown along the River Cam and the university. The University Park right downtown seems beautiful though I only went by on the bike. There must have been a million people in it. There was a small stream along the fence in which were swimming some ducklings with their mother and a few minnows in the water.

I stopped at the Gonville Hotel where I asked how to find the hostel. I easily found it but as soon as  I'd gone in, it was time to get out. It was horrible as were the B&Bs in the area. The whole district was ugly. I went back to the hotel where I asked if they knew of a better place. As the man called around I looked through his pictures of Toronto - he'd been there nine years ago. He was very helpful so I gave him two pins - Ontario and Canada. He was very pleased.

He found this place so I biked across town. It's much better. The only problem is that as I was in here eating I heard someone say something about where I'd put my bike. I locked it to a pipe on the house as the shed was full plus there were no bars to lock it to. I'll leave it right where it is.

I believe I'll walk out soon as it's still light out. I'd like to see a bit before dark so I can get some photos.

*****

I went for a 2-1/2 hour walk through Cambridge. As I walked along the river there were numerous students rowing. I took a picture of two in a race to the bridge. As I continued on through the alleys of the University, I came upon the elaborate colleges - Trinity being the most extravagant. I don't know what's going on, but all of the students seemed to be dressed up and going somewhere. They were everywhere. On the way back, I followed the River Cam behind the University. Unfortunately, it was too dark for photos so I shall return in the morning before I leave for Ely along the A10. I have a slight pain in my right leg below the knee so I may go nowhere tomorrow if it is not better.

On the way back to the hotel, I took a different route but I had to backtrack a bit when I came to a dead end. I wasn't impressed since my feet and legs were sore and I was exhausted. I just watched Alfred Hitchcock and am now watching a foreign movie with english subtitles. It is only 9:35 pm but I don't think I'll last much longer. I'm having tea then the lights go out.

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 80 km (50 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0