Dia 1: Antuérpia (BE) - Pouphan (BE) - From Antwerp to Torino - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2019

Dia 1: Antuérpia (BE) - Pouphan (BE)

In English at the very end.

O comboio era suposto deixar-me em Dinnant mas devido a obras na linha ficou 9km antes, em Yvoir. De Antuérpia a Yvoir é preciso mudar em Bruxelas e foi ainda nessa estação que me apercebi que a minha bicicleta com o carrego que levava causava impacto. Um outro passageiro meteu-se comigo e perguntou para onde ia ou de onde vinha. Expliquei-lhe que ia para o sul da Bélgica e que iria a pedalar até Turim, em Itália. Sorriu, desejou-me coragem e ficou a apreciar a bicicleta. Desta vez não apertou o pneu da frente com a ponta dos dedos, gesto tão comum feito pelos que contemplam uma bicicleta que não a sua. Não sei se a origem deste gesto está na fruta, que se apalpa a avaliar da sua madureza e qualidade ou não mas que é muito comum e inexplicável é.

Heart 1 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesAdoro ver uma bicicleta de turismo totalmente equipada!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Viajar de bicicleta tem este efeito nas pessoas. Não há quem fique indiferente a um viajante que utiliza o seu próprio corpo como meio de locomoção. Mais tarde, já a pedalar numa das primeiras subidas da viagem cruzo-me com uma família que estava a fazer um piquenique num parque de merendas à beira da estrada. Convidaram-me a juntar-me a eles e a comer qualquer coisa. Recusei, agradeci, sorri e desejei bom proveito.

O dia começava a chegar ao fim e era tempo de procurar lugar para dormir. Uma pesquisa rápida no google maps indicou um camping relativamente perto. Ficava fora da rota mas relativamente perto.

Era um campo de férias essencialmente de caravanas e bungalows permanentes. Muito feio por sinal mas a esta hora não dava para pedir mais.

Fui até à recepção que fica no rés-do-chão da casa onde os donos vivem e perguntei se podia ficar ali. Disseram que sim mas que para meter a tenda teria que ir para o fundo do parque, longe dos balneários. Franzi o sobrolho e a senhora indicou-me o alpendre mesmo em frente de uma caravana que estava ao lado da casa. Era deles e estava desocupada. Podia meter a tenda debaixo do telheiro e assim ficava a uns escassos 5 m dos balneários. Agradeci e perguntei quanto era tirando o cartão de débito da carteira. Ela olhou para o cartão e disse que não aceitavam cartões, só cash. Eu não tinha dinheiro vivo. Pedi o numero da conta do banco para fazer uma transferencia. Ela disse que ia buscar isso e já me dava mas que entretanto eu podia instalar a tenda e tomar um duche.

Fui para o sitio indicado, estacionei a bicicleta e instalei a tenda. Fui tomar um duche e quando estava a petiscar qualquer coisa sentado numa cadeira saiu um homem da recepção e disse-me para não me preocupar. Era o fim da época e eles ofereciam-me a estadia. Os donos iam partir para férias às 6:00 da manhã. Eu que não me preocupasse.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Isto começa bem pensei. Agradeci e fui fazer o jantar.

English version:

The train was supposed to drop me off at Dinnant but due to works on the tracks, I had to hop off 9km before, at Yvoir. From Antwerp to Yvoir one has to change in Brussels and it was still there that I realized my overloaded bicycle was causing some impact among the passengers. A passenger came to me asked where I was heading to or coming from. I explained my plan to travel by train to the south of Belgium and then cycle to Turin, in Italy. He smiled, wished me luck and stayed, analyzing every single detail on the bike. This time he didn't pinch the front tire with his fingertips, a very common and funny gesture made by those who contemplate a bicycle. I do not know if the origin of this gesture is in the fruit checking, in which freshness and edibleness are also checked by the same principle.

Traveling by bicycle has this effect on people. No one becomes indifferent to a traveler who uses his own body as a means of transportation. Later on, while already cycling on one of the first climbs of the trip, I came across with family who was having a picnic in a small park by the road. They cheered me and invited me to join. I refused, thanked them, smiled and gave them a thumbs up.

The day was getting to its end and it was time to look for a place where I could camp, have a shower and rest. A quick search with google maps pointed to a relatively close campsite. It was off the route but close enough and there was no other alternative though I had no choice.

It was a summer camp essentially made for permanent caravans and cabins. Very ugly by the way, but you can't be picky in these situations.

The reception is on the ground floor of the house where the owners live. The camping spot for tents was far away from the bathroom so they told me to pitch the tent right under the porch of a kind of hut next to the reception. It was their own and it was unoccupied. I couldn't be happier with the suggestion and asked for the price of it while taking the debit card out of the wallet. She looked at the card and said they didn't accept cards, just cash.
I had no cash. Could I do a bank transfer later on?  She said she was going to get the bank account number but in the meanwhile, I could install the tent and take a shower.

I did as I was told to do and later on while having a snack a man came to me and told me not to worry. It was the end of the season and they offered me the stay for free. The owners will leave for their own vacation at 6:00 am so don't worry.

This seems to be a good start...

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 80 km (50 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0