Get Set… - Two Old Guys Take On A Continent - CycleBlaze

May 2, 2023

Get Set…

Jet Set?

DFW

Sitting at the gate at DFW waiting for my flight to DC. It was a bit of a struggle to get my bags to the check-in counter. Not a SmartCarte to be found. Luckily it was just inside the door from the unloading area. It culminated with a guy at the Oversized Bags door who had apparently never seen a boxed up bike before. I’m hoping he’s not so curious that he has to open it up to inspect it.

The guy in Arlington who wants to buy the bike box responded to my text this morning, so hopefully it will find a good home.

This journal must be getting some traction. I heard this morning from an old friend from my Norway days 40 years ago who lives in the DC area. Haven’t seen him for probably 10 years. Hopefully he’ll be able to join us for dinner, along with one of my great-nephews.

Sitting here at the gate tapping this out on my iPhone makes me glad I decided to bring along an iPad. I spend half my time on the phone correcting my fat finger spelling mistakes. 

Look, a plane disgorging passengers at my gate! A good sign!

DCA

My bike box and duffel bag were the last two items from the flight to come out on the conveyor. I only had to wait about 15 minutes for Ed to come from the hotel to pick me up.

Waiting for Ed.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Took about 1 1/2 hours to put the bike back together (racks, fenders and stays, oh, my!). Got the bike box sold and carted off. Found a market a couple blocks from the restaurant we went to for dinner, so I stocked up on a few things.

Had a great Thai dinner at T.H.A.I. In Shirlington with my friend Mark from 40+ years ago in Stavanger, Norway, and my great-nephew Steven. Back to the hotel to rearrange my packing and get things ready for tomorrow.  Despite appearances things are well organized.

Looking like a bike again.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Jennifer WeirichGlad you were able to catch up with Steven!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

Planning on some rain for our Museums and Monuments tour tomorrow with our WarmShowers host Jessica and her self-described “Grey Posse”. As she put it in a note today, a good chance to test our waterproofedness. Nothing like an early baptism. No use putting it off until we have to set up tents in the rain.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rebecca ChimahuskyI believe the last time you had dinner with Mark was when you visited me and we met him for lunch...at a Cuban place in VA? Maybe Colombian? I can't remember if it was when you came in 2009 to help me shop for a couch or when you stayed an extra few days after the conference in Baltimore to spend the weekend with me (and we also had dinner with Adam). Glad you got to reconnect with him again!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago