Ed's story - How I Got Here - Two Old Guys Take On A Continent - CycleBlaze

Ed's story - How I Got Here

You've probably read my brothers' first 3 posts (he talks a lot) now it's my turn to talk about myself.

My biking life has not been as long as John's. Naturally as a kid I had a red single speed bike but I pretty much stopped riding it in the 8th grade. My next bike, a Schwinn Super LeTour 2, was bought in 1977 when I was in Idaho Falls studying at the Navy Nuclear Prototype at the start of my journey in the Navy submarine field. My wife had a bike so were able to ride around town when I wasn't working (which seemed to be all the time). From there the bike moved with us to Charleston, SC; Naples, Italy; and Bremerton, WA where it didn't get many miles put on it. I had plenty of excuses such as mosquitoes; crazy Italian drivers; hills; being out of shape, etc. 

When I left the Navy we (including the bikes) moved to Ohio. Some friends of ours from Washington state visited us shortly after we moved. I got home from work, and Jerry told me he rode my bike and screwed up the front wheel. (Another excuse for me not to ride.) The bike stayed in the garage 2nd floor for 13 years until 2000 when, low and behold, the Great Ohio Bicycle Adventure (GOBA) (7 day bicycle tour) started in our home town.

I remembered I had a bike and after a major overhaul started riding. Two year later I bought a Klein road bike; and the next year rode in my first GOBA. I had so much fun I convinced John to join me, and we've ridden supported tours in various states together for most of the past 20 years.

I did my first self contained tour with Adventure Cycling in the Michigan UP (with a new Waterford touring bike) in 2012, and in 2015 when I retired I did a lone self-contained tour through Canada and around Lake Erie. Since then, as John may have noted we did both a 300 and an 800 mile tour in Michigan during the past two years. Both of these were in preparation for the cross country tour we start in May.

I currently ride a long wheel-base recumbent, a RANS Stratus XP, with both a rear rack and an underseat rack. It is like riding an easy chair, except when you go uphill. I find it is harder to climb on the recumbent, than on the Waterford I had. For one thing it is hard to slalom going uphill. 

As far as the gear I am taking, it is pretty similar to John's, with the addition of my camp chair, a pocket rocket stove, and some different riding and cool weather clothing.

Whether or not John and I survive each other for 86 days is yet to be seen. Until next time, have a great biking day.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Rachel and Patrick HugensHi Ed, saw your post on FB about putting links to your journal....we do that all the time! We are Racpat, and live in Boise ID! Welcome to cycleblaze.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallI really liked my Schwinn Super Le Tour - used it for commuting to work and a bit of touring as well in the late 70's. Only parted with it about 1 year ago when I donated it to a local community college program that repairs bikes for use by homeless folks.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezWelcome Ed - from another Stratus XP rider. I will be following with great interest. Now we need a photo of your bikes to go along with the gear page! Riders can be in there also, as long as they don't block the view of the bikes.

This sounds like a grand adventure!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Torsten LifHi guys! I saw Ed's posts on FB and signed up to Cycleblaze just so that I can follow you here.

I'm particularly interested in how you're going to get along on your two very different bikes. I've been riding laid back since 1991 and would never consider going back to upright (upwrong!) touring again. But riding with headfirsters is always a problem since our speeds are different - I'm slower on the uphills but faster on the downhills!

Happy trails!

/Torsten
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ed ChimahuskyTo Torsten LifTorsten - you are correct, we do ride at different speeds, especially uphill. We have done 2 tours together; I rode a P-38 on the 300 mile tour and my Rans on the 800 mile tour. John will occasionally pull ahead but is most always within eyesight. He knows that I carry the camp stove so that help keeps him grounded. My consolation is that my seat is much more comfortable than his.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Torsten LifTo Ed ChimahuskyAs for climbing, I've found that the answer is to gear down much lower than you would on an upwrong. You can't stand up to pedal on a 'bent and mashing against the backrest makes your legs go lactic if you can't keep the cadence up. So on my old Linear I installed a "great granny" 18t "chainwheel", making it a quad setup (50-38-28-18 if I remember correctly). "But isn't it hard to balance when going so slow?" everybody asks. No, as long as I'm able to keep the cadence up above 40-50 it's no issue.

Nowadays I ride a Grasshopper SWB from HPVelotechnik and it has 20" wheels front and rear. It came with an oversized triple up front (60-48-38 I think) to compensate for the small rear wheel, but by the simple expedient of replacing it with a more standard 50-38-28 I have my low gears. Sure, my high end bottoms out at about 30 km/h (20 mph) but I'm 66 and don't have any need to push for higher speeds.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John ChimahuskyTo Ed ChimahuskyPerhaps if I carry the fuel for the stove we can reach a detente. I can't ride too fast, and you can't ride too slowly. Otherwise its MAH. Mutually Assured Hunger.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ed ChimahuskyTo Torsten LifI get to the point where I am spinning too much. My two low combinations are 36/36 and 26/36. I can generally maintain down to about 4 mph uphill depending on grade. Once I get to 7 or greater , I can go some but end up doing some walking (or cross training as I call it). It’s all good, regardless.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Torsten LifTo Ed ChimahuskyOf course it all depends on the roads where you ride. The steepest I ever tackled on the Linear was the 20% climb at Talla Linfoots in the Scottish Borders. I was very happy with my 18/34 then! I still had to stop twice to "take pictures" (=catch my breath!)

Nowadays I carry full camping gear so my touring has become more "bloated" than "loaded"!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago