And the winning name is... - Choosing What's Next - CycleBlaze

November 30, 2022

And the winning name is...

(... provisionally, and subject to change)

... SERENITY.

It was a dark horse candidate all along, but in the limited time I've had and ridden the bike the name has surged steadily through the pack, overtaking and displacing one early contender after another.

The bike makes me happy and steadies me.  It helps me clear my mind as I ride.  I can focus on the smooth ride, easy cranking, and general feeling of solidity and well-madeness of the unit, and life's cares and worries fall away.  

It's also a nod to one of my favorite TV programs, Firefly (which also spawned a movie named Serenity).  Serenity was the spaceship around which much of the action centered and, in some ways, was as much a member of the cast as the humans who inhabited her.  The owner/captain always had a special fondness for the ship, as I am sure I will for my bike.

For all that I liked Trooper early on, it just didn't sing to me once I had ridden the bike.  And neither Clyde nor Mack quite fit, either.

Huck and Rod, thanks for playing.  Discovery, Voyager, Endeavor, and all the other names of vessels of exploration, you made a good run at the title.  Davis, Pudge, Telemachus, and Telegonus, you were clever but perhaps just a shade (or more) too artful.  Chief, Chester, and Cincinatti, you are good names, just not right for these circumstances.

Lastly, a late entry to the field, Bottle Rocket, had momentary appeal but- like so many small pyrotechnics- kind of fizzled.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Kelly IniguezDo you and Serenity have any other touring plans coming up soon? It must be tough to get a new bike during the winter season!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezNothing planned before spring. We're (the missus and I) off to Hawaii in the new year but for walking not cycling.

As much as I carp about them, winters here are often mild enough for a decent day ride fairly regularly so I can at least do that although my road and mountain bikes need exercise too. Plus they are not steel framed so foad salt is less of an issue for them.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Keith AdamsOops that should of course have been "road salt".
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonThat name sounds just right to me! You had lots of original names out there, but none of them was quite as spot on as this one. Long live Serenity!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Suzanne GibsonThanks Suzanne. I'm actually considering having the name printed on a decal or vinyl sticker and putting it on the bike as a last finishing touch.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago