The Plan - Taiwan - CycleBlaze

The Plan

We have a plan to make a plan

After Christmas, my son Joe and I will fly to Taipei from Canberra, stay there a couple of days and then work out a cycle tour plan for about ten days of riding in Taiwan. We’ll take our 20” wheeled folding bikes and a couple of partly loaded panniers with us. The folding bikes should make it easier to combine cycling with train and bus rides if we need to move a bit faster than our pedaling pace permits. Folding bikes are also easier to transport on plane flights. 

We won’t bring any camping or cooking gear, as part of the plan is to use local accommodation and enjoy local food.

Resources and Sources

A special thanks to photographer and writer Graham Finch who over the years has provided information and inspiration for cycle touring in Taiwan.

Other than sharing a same first name, Graham and I are also owners and fans of Thorn touring bikes. However, I hasten to say, I will not be using my Thorn touring bike on this forthcoming Taiwan tour. As mentioned earlier, folding bikes will be better suited to this short Taiwan ride.

I have been gathering some reading material about Taiwan, but haven’t yet made time to digest it thoroughly.   I’ll gratefully receive any advice, tips or tricks for cycle touring in Taiwan.

My initial impression from reading and looking at photos is that Taiwan is very suited to cycle touring with many reports about  its welcoming people, a reasonable climate, good food, excellent cycling infrastructure and affordable accommodation in most areas. Knowing this is giving me confidence to do minimum planning other than book flights and some accommodation. The rest we can work out when we arrive in Taipei. 

And an additional thanks to Scott and Rachael Anderson for their journal. I’m part way through reading it, and it’s already been a great help to my planning. 

https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/taiwan2019/

I picked up this guide from the Taiwan Information Office here in Canberra. It's highly unlikely we will cycle around Taiwan, but this guide is reassuring that cycle touring in Taiwan is not only feasible, but is actively encouraged by their government and tourism industry. This bodes well.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Lonely Planet guide has a short but useful section on cycle touring in Taiwan.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another short guide from the Taiwan Information Office in Canberra.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Map from the Lonely Planet guide. The east coast, including at least a section of the Taroko Gorge seem to be attractive cycle touring areas.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Graham Finch’s article. Graham has also kindly provided information by individual correspondence. Graham’s photography is outstanding. Check out his journals.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A useful planning map bought from a local Canberra bookshop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Scott AndersonHow great! I’m really looking forward to following along on this one. We’ve taken two tours of Taiwan now (both blogged here, and possible references for you), and wouldn’t be surprised if we make it back a third time one of these years. You’re going to love it.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Graham SmithThanks Scott for the encouragement. I’ve just passed your 2019 journal link into my planning page. I read the first few pages of your journal, and can see it will be a very helpful guide.

Would you recommend that Royal Hotel in Taipei? I was planning to book 2-3 nights in Taipei at tour start, ask the hotel to store our bike packing stuff, then return for a couple of nights to the same hotel at tour end.

We’ll probably only ride parts of the east coast, the centre and in and near Taipei. I’ll work out the tour details when we arrive. It’s my son’s first bike tour so I want it to be more fun than epic.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Graham SmithI’m always hesitant to recommend hotels, because everyone has such different standards. This one worked well for us though - reasonably priced, a good location, and they were very accommodating about storing our luggage.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago