In Tiverton: a second look at the canal - The Seven Year Itch - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2024

In Tiverton: a second look at the canal

Over breakfast we pull up the weather report just in case, though the forecast yesterday was for fair weather today.  There’s been a change though, and now it looks like we could see showers at around ten.  Fine, that still leaves us plenty of day for the ride we have planned.

Ten comes, and the showers have moved out - so we wait again, planning to leave around noon.  When it comes though the showers are still pushing out; so we decide to go out for lunch at Ponte Vecchio rather than this evening as we’d planned.

Rachael was happy with her fish main dish, but I thought my pappardelle cacciatore presented better.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith AdamsOhhhhhhhh that looks DELICIOUS.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsYep. Just my kind of meal. A shame that it wasn’t accompanied by mushy peas though.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

A meal and digestive hour later, the expected showers are no-showers and still haven’t come yet but now are due at four.  The bike ride plan goes out the window and at about six we finally decide we’ll both just go back to the canal again, getting as far as time and weather permits.  We do pretty well - Rachael walks an amazing nine miles, and I get in fifteen on the bike.  Since she’s just walking and making good time she gets her miles in and is home before me, but not before she’s completely soaked.  I do better in avoiding the rain, because it doesn’t take me as long on the bike to bridge from one safe haven to the next.  Not the day we expected by any means, but not a bad one either.

Not planning on any accidents today either. I’ll walk beneath all the overpasses to improve my odds.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rachael was just here yesterday so she didn’t take many photos today. She liked these ducks though, especially the youngster.
Heart 2 Comment 0
As well as this moorhen chick. Rachael has a soft spot for cute, fuzzy youngsters.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And for cats. She really liked this one.
Heart 5 Comment 0
She liked it even more when it decided it needed her attention and walked her way.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Looks like it would fit well in her pannier, if she’d thought to bring it along.
Heart 5 Comment 0
And trees. Trees are nice too, but they don’t quite rate up there with cute, fuzzy guys. One photo’s enough.
Heart 1 Comment 0
On to my camera now. This is a battery of like kilns at the Tiverton end of the canal. Limestone was barged down from a quarry to the east for burning here when the canal was operational.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Like Rachael, I have my own favorite subjects. Its not like birds though - one canal boat is enough for today.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I was happy with the shot of this buzzard standing out in a field with some rooks. I was happier when I thought it was a hen harrier though.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The forecast when we left the inn said there might be a brief shower before long, but my plan was to just find the nearest overpass and wait it out. It’s here.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Saint Andrew’s Church, Halburton; but the real reason I took this shoot was because I thought it would show how threatening the sky looks. It doesn’t really though, does it?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Water lilies line the canal at Halburton. There’s a story here.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I took a photo of the information panel to tell you more about those water lilies but didn’t do too well with it. You can read the left half of the paragraph thoughnajd extrapolate the rest to get the idea.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I especially liked the trees here but it does a prey good job of showing how dark the sky is too. Menacing, I should probably be turning back.
Heart 0 Comment 0
They don’t ship off lily blossoms off to the east coast any more, but they still make a pretty good nursery for the mooorhens.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This must be his special spot. It’s where he was posing yesterday too.
Heart 3 Comment 0
His spot’s on one of three rusting old canal boats moored here.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Xxx

It’s more than misting, so I pull up under the nearest tunnel to await developments. One development is that I drop my bike while I’m putting the camera in a zip lock bag. It lands on the derailleur side, but luckily no harm is done. Another development is that I drop my helmet at the same time. It bounces a time or two but luckily stops inches from the edge of the pathway and doesn’t fall into the drink.
Heart 1 Comment 0
After the shower stopped I unbagged the camera again so I’d be ready in case anything showed up. It’s a good thing, or I’d have missed that small bird at the left side of the gate I’m just coming to.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Otherwise, I’d have missed what’s likely to be the best shot of a European robin I’m ever likely to get.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Keith AdamsAnd an excellent portrait it is! Well done.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Actually, the weather forecaster made a pretty poor job of it this evening. It’s coming down quite hard now. This is probably bout the same time that Rachael got soaked rushing back to the room.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The rain stops again, and I break out the camera again because you never know. And it’s a good thing, because I come to this snag that has this song thrush earning its name, and then a long tailed tit and a chiffchaff. That’s it though. The showers return once more, I bag the camera one last time and race for the room.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 1,900 miles (3,058 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Eva WaltersSo you did get some rain in Tiverton like we did! I think you guys definitely have the right approach to touring in England, staying several days in one place so you get a good look at the surroundings. We only stayed overnight in Tiverton and completely missed the Grand Western Canal--didn't even know it was there. It looks like lovely cycling--and FLAT!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Scott AndersonTo Eva WaltersThe canal was great alright, even when it was a little wet. We were both really pretty happy to go back for seconds. And this approach to traveling here is really working out well for us. If we ever come back to the U.K. we might do it purely as a base-hopping trip, going from one to the next by train and then hanging out there for awhile before moving on.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago