Che bella cosa!: Belleville to Tournus and home. - The Last of the Summer Wine - CycleBlaze

October 17, 2014

Che bella cosa!: Belleville to Tournus and home.

The Italian way of singing "you are my sunshine" is so much nicer on the ears than the American equivalent. So when I left Belleville this morning, I hope I didn't offend anyone by belting out "O Sole Mio" for the first twenty kilometers or so. Awakening to sunshine, light winds, and warm temperatures my mood was ebulent, and the road today I knew would be flat, low traffic, and still affording some great views. So it was off for a joyous day of riding. I crossed the Saone just north of Belleville to get onto the lightly trafficed roads of the left bank.

The hills of Beaujolais in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the Saone, a cruise ship in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Winding along on farm roads, I eventually got to Macon, where I recrossed the Saone.

Macon along the Saone
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now that I was back in Burgundy, I knew the way home by heart. From Macon, the voie bleue follows the Saone, much of it limited to non-motorized traffic, so all I had to do was pedal and enjoy the view. I rode along easily until I got to Fleurville, where I found a bistro for lunch.

Looking upriver from Macon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Its migration season, and the swans are flocking up along the river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The chateau at Fleurville, now a hotel, rtains the coat-of-arms of the original owner. I have no idea who that was, though.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Lunch was unexciting chicken slices in mustard sauce and fries. Back on the voie bleue after lunch, I continued along to Tournus, where a combination of the lateness of the hour and the availability of the train caused me to stop. I took the train to Beaune, where I changed to the local that would get me home, arriving just in time for supper. Perfect day's riding and a fine end to a quick getaway tour.

A shady road somewhere in France. There used to be more of these plane tree lined rooutes, but automobilists have a disconcerting habit of running into the trees. For a cyclist though, its a near vision of heaven.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0