Day 59: Yorktown day 3 - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2010

Day 59: Yorktown day 3

Today's journal is a little different. I had planned to post pictures of Yorktown and Jamestown (Williamsburg is tomorrow) but I'll do that another day. Instead I have this...

Many places (and all places that allow cyclists to stay overnight) have a book to record name, state, comments, route, etc, and the church in Yorktown is no different. But today, when I was looking through the previous posts I saw this one, posted last spring...

"We've only just begun our journey and already the kindness we've encountered has warmed us. The day we arrived here in Yorktown was day 10 and it was the hardest so far--and a safe, beautiful, relaxing place to land and recover a bit is what we needed...

We are riding in memory of my very, very missed daughter, Alex, who was hit by a car in 2000. She would have loved this adventure and in a way she is with us with every push of the pedals. I have decided to spread a small amount of her ashes in each state that we ride through, and when we reach Denver we meet Dillon, the now 11-year old boy who got my daughter's heart when she donated her organs. She told me at age 10, after seeing a commercial on TV, that she wanted to donate so I honored that and she saved 4 lives. Please talk to your loved ones about being a donor. There is a list of people out there waiting and it's long. Register today at donatelife.net...

Signed, Jen and Ken

I think I'll make a point to check the donor registration on my driver's license from now on.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0