Day 44: Bikes and Tractors DO go together! - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2010

Day 44: Bikes and Tractors DO go together!

Tonight I'm at the home of Jonathan and Sharon Voelz who offered me a place to stay for the night. But, I'll get to that in a minute...

Kind of a weird day. I didn't take many pictures because it was cloudy and there was a big rain storm around 11:00am. So, I rode in the rain for a while. Then, it started to clear up. Then, it DID clear up and it was blue skies...

I made great time in the morning but I kept having to stop and rearrange things after I covered them in plastic because of the rain. But, the main thing is that I made it to Goreville in time for FREE PIE at Delaney's! WOO-HOOO! I had peach pie, ala mode. Delaney's is great little restaurant in Goreville that gives pie to any and all touring cyclists. I also had a sandwich, which was also great...

After my pie (did I mention it was homemade?) I got on the Trucker for the last 15 or so miles, only to find I had a flat, which I changed, and then I got on the Trucker for the last 15 miles or so, only to find the wheel (or tire) with some kind of issue. I didn't like what it was doing, sort of out of true, but maybe it's the tire? Either way, Jon came and picked me up for the last stretch and offered to take me to the bike shop tomorrow, which I appreciate greatly. I can probably ride it but we think it's a good idea to have it looked at before heading further east, where bike shops are few and far between...

After dinner (did I mention it was awesome, homemade pasta with lots of fresh vegetables?) Jon took me on a tour of his farm and it was THEN that I got to ride the tractor! And man, was it SLOW ;-). ...but just until I learned how to drive it. After that I got it up to 5 or 6 mph. I thought about hot-wiring it, and taking it the rest of the way east, but I'm not sure I'll make it in time at 5-6 mph. Either way, it kind of drove like my Saturn, only slower. And, in my Saturn I can't shovel cow manure or other fun things...

But back to biking...Tomorrow I wanted to put in a big day but it may be short, thanks to the bike shop run. I'll see. Either way, I'll let you know.

Until then, Karen (And the Trucker)

Chester sure does like Popeye
Heart 0 Comment 0
That was my free pie! :-)
Heart 1 Comment 0
That's me at Delaney's, after my FREE pie!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The owners of Delaney's, where they have FREE PIE!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look, it's Farmer Karen!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunset at the Voelz farm
Heart 1 Comment 0
That there is a cow nose! :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 3,485 miles (5,609 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0