What I'm carrying in my bags - Summer Tour 19, Heading north to Quebec City via Detroit and coming back south through NYC - CycleBlaze

What I'm carrying in my bags

Heart 0 Comment 0

My bad weather - since it is summer that mostly means rain - gear does include a Buff, GorTex mitts, Frog Togs rain suit, Rainlegs, and SealSkins socks. All this fits in my big handlebar bag with room left over. The bag and its contents weigh less than 2.5 lbs

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here is my electronic load, missing only the phone - Moto X4 - that took these images. It all, including the Moto X4 and the Chomebook Flip, weighs less than 4 pounds. This year I'm carrying it in my camping pannier. Its weight balances the camping pannier with my 'everything else' panniers. They weigh 11.6 lbs each.

The Flip provides the base for everything else to sit in in this image. There is an Anker 20AH battery pack, both USB Micro and USB C chargers and cables. My old phone for a backup and a Verison connection, spare batteries for my headlight and always carry small light, my stylus and spare stylus tips, and OTG USB micro and USB C thumb drives in the lower right corner.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here is a lousy image of the contents of the everything else pannier. Each of these cheap orange dry bags weighs between 3 and 4 lbs. The top one is clothes, the middle one is snack food - you can see a bag of XL tortillas through that orange bag.That bag is wrapped around jars of peanut butter and Nutella and my bathroom stuff is in its own bag above it - and the bottom one is spare parts which includes a spare tire,chain, chain lube etc. Tools are mostly stored in the seat bag. I also store an inexpensive, packable, small back pack in that bag. That back pack is very handy when shopping for food or other things on foot.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Here is an image of my fourth dry bag. I use it for cold weather clothing on fall and spring tours that might get into freezing weather, but not on summer tours. These bags really help me organize my load and make it MUCH easier to access stuff in my everything else pannier. Each bag, when flat is about 9 by 18 inches (23 by 46 cm). Three of them fit comfortably into a Ortlieb rear roller pannier. When I need to take a fourth, I carry it on top of the rear rack and under my folded camping chair. On summer ours I often carry a larger water bottle there

Heart 1 Comment 0

From the right bottom of the image: hypercracker for removing cassette, chain wear gauge, valve extractor, two sets of tire levers, clothes pin for locking brake levers, fiberfix spoke, bent spoke segment to hold chain ends together, multi size spoke wrench, spoke wrench, missing link, Gerber multi tool which cuts cable cleanly,set of metric allen wrenches, Shimano chain tool, tube patching kit,two tubes, spare derailleur cable, and rear flasher glued on seat bag

Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally, here is the helmet, clothing, gloves, and shoes I'll be wearing and the the computer and electronics stuff 'bagged' up for carrying in the camping pannier. I carry duplicates of all of the clothing and a spare pair of gloves in the everything pannier. The open handlebar bag has my wet weather gear in it.

Rating: (0)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0