Day31: Rest day in Rouses Point - Summer Tour 19, Heading north to Quebec City via Detroit and coming back south through NYC - CycleBlaze

Day31: Rest day in Rouses Point

The hard rain started about 1:30 PM just as I finished processing images for today. I'm glad I went out early this morning to get breakfast - nobody in town does a traditional breakfast, so I settled for a breakfast burrito and then, since I was still hungry, a breakfast bagel. The got the job done and I got my web uploads for yesterday done. Then I walked back to my room. Still no internet and I no longer expect any, but almost every thing else is at least adequate and I slept well until the resident fly - he seems to have escaped - woke me up at 7 AM. After a nap till almost noon, I unloaded my bike - it was quite a job to get it in the room loaded and, because of that, I decided to unloaded it before getting it out - and rode it to Vermont and, after coming back from Vermont, to the US border station. The latter ride was very short since the border station is just north of the road that goes to Vermont which ie just north of Rouses Point.

The bridge to Vermont is long since it goes over a big lake - my round trip distance was about 6 miles. Like US 11, it has good shoulders and grades that were easy to handle, unloaded, in my bike's middle ring. There is a big service station at the Vermont end and fishing related infra-structure but not much else so I didn't explore. The main point of the trip was to give my legs some pedaling today. It was hard getting able to walk to the coffee shop for breakfast this morning so I took a second, for the day, Aleve before my nap. My legs, as expected, felt almost normal after the ride.

Tomorrows weather forecast - moderate temps and humidity, light winds - are good for either going north to Canada or south to stay in the US. Yesterday and today before the hard rain had strong winds from the south which would have made bicycling south very difficult. I'll decide which way to head after breakfast tomorrow, but right now I'm leaning north, with more Aleve to reduce the pain.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0