Day27: Acts of kindness - Summer Tour 19, Heading north to Quebec City via Detroit and coming back south through NYC - CycleBlaze

Day27: Acts of kindness

Saturday July 13, 2019

Another one of those days with a surprising ending. I'm in a airBnB place, but as a guest, not as a customer. I'm in a little cabin they used to use for customers before they built fancier quarters as part of their house. I'm here because the waitress who served my early supper - a strange, and good, dish that used perogies instead of french fries in poutine. The perogies were, of course, russki perogies filled with potatoes and sour cream cooked like french fries instead of being boiled. I saw perogies on the menu right below poutine and the description sounded good so I ordered them. They were good and good bicycling food ;-}. I also had a Canadian dark beer called Red - an Irish ale. The fancier local beer that I had with the diner at the Greek restaurant was also called Red, but in French and it cost 60% more!

My waitress saw me looking at motels, etc and we discussed the virtues of my various options. Then she said her friend had an AirBnB and we added that into the mix. Given the, frankly overpriced, mainstream motels around here on weekend days, e.g. a Super 8 for CAD150 + about 20% tax - adjusted to USD is $137 for something I'd expect to pay about half of that! - This air BnB at CAD95 is a real bargain. But the BnB already had a couple of scuba divers from Montreal - we are about 2 hrs from there by car - as customers. So she said they had a "guest room" and would have me as a guest rather than a customer. That only slightly surprised her friend who said she was simply a really good person. It also surprised me, but I've had a lot of practice at accepting kindness from people when I tour. so now I have my own small cabin on Lake Ontario for the night.i had an intense, if short, visit with her before she and her husband left for Montreal to look at a car they now need. I agree that she is a really good person. So is that waitress.

Last night, because of issues dealing with our bank on-line that are going o force me to buy a new phone plan - $50 - that allows me to make calls to the US, I did not sleep well. I was feeling tired all day. Roughly mid day, I stopped at the Super Walmart - they are about 60 miles apart around here - in Brockville to talk to the phone person there about getting my phone plan modified to add that service. He told me that Walmart, who sold me the SIM, can't do modifications. When I protested that contacting Lucky, the plan provider, was proving very difficult, he told me the best way to do it.

The really stressful part of all this was that I had to leave my loaded bike locked to a bike rack out side the huge store. When I came back, someone had turned the rear flasher on, but I don't think anything else was disturbed. Riding to the Walmart following Gmaps directions was incredibly complicated. Getting back to CR was really simple -two streets! - but it did involve a long granny gear climb. I stopped at the Super 8 shortly after I got back on 2 to get that price quote. Then I rode east on CR 2 knowing there were much better options about 20 miles away. The cabin where I am now is about 25 miles farther east on CR 2.

I should make it roughly half way to Montreal tomorrow.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0