Day25: Feeling better - Summer Tour 19, Heading north to Quebec City via Detroit and coming back south through NYC - CycleBlaze

Day25: Feeling better

Day25: Feeling better

I went to an 'urgent care walk in clinic' about 10 AM yesterday. I debated not going since my back/leg problems seemed, finally, to be getting better. It was a good experience, but definitely one that made me happy that I hadn't gone last night. The place, Being Well, lived up to its good net reviews, but seemed to be understaffed so it would have been really slow if it had had many customers.

The three staff - front desk, nurse, and PA - I interacted with were all very nice and very competent. My only complaint is that I got no info about what it will cost me or my insurance. The PA did a through exam and then we discussed options. I mentioned muscle relaxant - by coincidence my wife just started taking then before bed for her own back injury - but the PA argued that they probably wouldn't help much in my case and that he didn't like the side effects. He advocated getting some Lidocaine pads for pain relief as needed.

I did get the pads and used one yesterday afternoon. It changed the nature of the pain and probably made me able to walk better. I still had sore butt muscles but fewer muscle spasms. This morning I was able to get up and walk almost normally.

Later this morning, I'm riding about 30 miles to my younger daughter's in-laws' house on lake Ontario for a visit. Tomorrow I plan to ride and ferry back to Canada and, probably, go back to the Welcome Travelers motel.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0