Day12: An easy day to Wallaceburg, ON - Summer Tour 19, Heading north to Quebec City via Detroit and coming back south through NYC - CycleBlaze

Day12: An easy day to Wallaceburg, ON

Tuesday June 25, 2019

I'm in Wallaceburg after about 10 miles of riding and a short ferry ride across he North Channel from Algonac, MI. I had a good trip, met a nice couple of bike tourists from upstate NY while waiting on the ferry, and accomplished my goals for the day of changing money - at a bank for about twice the percentage cost I'm used to seeing for money exchanges in Europe - and getting a SIM card for the next month at Walmart. Walmart was recommended by, and is just down the street from the motel where I'm staying. The motel at 100 USD is about 30% higher than the almost identical Days Inn I stayed in two night ago. I think I'm going to have to do some serious price shopping for rooms here on this tour.

It was quite nice to get to Canada. All of the US car madness crap went away. This side of the channel is remarkably different from that side. I only rode about ten miles, roughly half on each side of the north channel, but the riding couldn't have been more different. On the US side it was cars and trucks rushing everywhere and on the Canadian side it was peaceful and relaxed with many fewer motorized vehicles and more bicycles. Ahh what a relief it is...

When I walked over to the Super Walmart, the fellow in the phone section was on break, so I got a basket and shopped for my supper in the extensive frozen food section. I was feeling poorer after the unexpected high charge for changing money and the motel cost. Then I interacted with the fellow about phone plans and he was very good. For $35 US, I ended up with a month of service including unlimited voice in Canada and text messages in both Canada and the US along with 4.5 GB of data which should enable Gmaps to not loose its mind, or really its connection to its mind, when trying to reroute and me to upload Crazyguy pages and my ride reports when I don't have access to a good wifi connection.

I should have napped today but I didn't. I did rest a while before writing this. Mostly I was working with routing finding where I could get more affordably lodging and figuring out my timing constrains on my riding due to weather and distances. I basically need to stay in Canada for a month - thus I bought a months phone service and my routing made certain assumption which, hoping for better weather here than in the States, I was able to mostly confirm today.

My route in the next week will be direction Toronto and following that in direction Montreal and then Quebec City before turning roughly 90 degrees to go east just above Maine and get to the ferry to Nova Scotia and ride down to get the ferry to Bar Harbor at Yarmouth roughly when my phone plan times out in a month.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0