Catastrophe Averted - Cycling Südtirol on a recumbent - probably - CycleBlaze

Catastrophe Averted

for now....

Reading through another CycleBlaze journal this morning I ran across the news that the EU would be meeting to discuss changing their recommendation on american tourists.  Cue mass panic on my part and some scanning of news headlines to confirm that, in fact, this was recent news.  I spent the morning pretty tremendously grumpy about the prospect of my travel plans going down the drain.  I even wrote an email to the White House imploring President Biden to change his policy and allow EU citizens to travel to the US for tourism purposes (this is part of why the EU is annoyed with the US - we have not reciprocated.)  

Around lunchtime I did another headline search and discovered that the EU actually met today to discuss the matter.  You can imagine my relief when they announced that, despite our substantial increase in Covid numbers, they would continue to permit US tourists.  They will meet again in two weeks to discuss the matter further.  So, for the time being, the trip is still on.  It is possible yet that Germany or Italy could decide on their own to restrict US tourist entry.  If we get past this weekend and nothing has changed, then I'm fairly confident I'll be able to go.  In the end, I think they want our tourist dollars pretty badly so score one for good old consumerism.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonThat’s wonderful news. I’ve been watching for updates on this myself, of course. I’d been hoping that at least the discussion wouldn’t happen until later in the week, but this is much better. Good luck on your own plans!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ben ParkeI saw your journal post this morning and got pretty panicked. Huge relief to see that headline lasted in the day. I’ll be watching your journal with interest to hear how your experience is getting in. Here’s hoping your border crossing plans all work out!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago