New restrictions - Cycling Südtirol on a recumbent - probably - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2021

New restrictions

It’s Friday the 13th; what did you expect?

I’m down to my last weekend before departure. Today was errand running day starting with a trip to REI for a new cycling gps unit. I’ve been using a Garmin Edge 705 for about 6 years. Does what I need including providing turn by turn directions from preloaded routes. I have maps of Germany and Austria that I loaded up to the device from a website several years ago. I went this week to download maps for Italy and discovered the website no longer works. I also couldn’t find any other websites with publicly sourced maps that would be simple enough to download either. Garmin no longer offers paid maps for such an old unit so either I’d have to burn through a lot of cellphone battery, or go without gps. I opted to go with shelling out the bucks for a new gps. Bonus, this one has a special climb function that shows you how far you are through a climb, assuming you’re following a preloaded track.   

Errand #2 was to find a new pair of walking/hiking shoes. The running store I stopped at unfortunately didn’t have anything in my size so I ended up going back to REI and finding a pair of light hikers there. Fortunately the replacement of my brake pads and one brake cable went much better than the shoe hunt. At the moment my brakes finally done squeal. 

As you know if you’ve read my previous post, the EU met Monday to debate restrictions on US tourists due to our alarmingly high covid rates. I was surprised that Germany hadn’t made any policy changes given how strict they’ve been with other countries, including even some EU countries. That all changed today. Germany will now only admit vaccinated tourists. Given that I’m vaccinated, that is not a problem for me and, quite frankly, pleases me. It means that much lower a chance I’ll be sitting next to an unvaccinated person on the flight from Iceland to München. Last I knew unvaccinated people could still get to Iceland with a negative test. I have not seen anything about Italy changing restrictions on tourists. I think most of the EU countries update their policies on fridays so I’m likely good to go now. I will need to fill out the digital locator forms for entry into Germany and Italy. That and packing up the bike will be my post ride activities on Sunday. Tomorrow I’ll have one last shakedown ride on the bike before it goes into the suitcase to wait for Thursday. 

Bitte drück mir die Daumen!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Scott AndersonGood luck! And thanks for the heads up about the change in Germany’s entrance requirements. We’ll be crossing that border next week so I need to bone up.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ben ParkeBeing vaccinated you shouldn’t have any problem getting in unless they update their risk country list to suddenly include Belgium. Depending on how long you’ll have been away from the US you may not need to do much anything. If you arrive within 14 days of leaving the US you’d just need to fill out their digital form me have your vaccination card handy. I’m not sure how border crossings are working now. I thought I’d read something about even people arriving via auto are having to present paperwork, but I didn’t pay very close attention on that part since my crossings will be via airplane and train. I’ve found the most thorough info on this website https://www.germany.info/us-en/covid-19/2321562?openAccordionId=item-2468856-1-panel
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonWhich gps did you get? We got the Garmin 1030 plus because it had maps of the USA and most of the world. It also has the climb feature you mentioned which is great! Hope everything goes well for you!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonBy the way, when does your flight leave? We’ll be crossing our fingers for you!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ben ParkeTo Rachael AndersonI got the Garmin 530. I’ll have to shell out the extra $20 for European maps and I may need to remove the US maps for now to load the Europe ones. 16GB of space gets used up quickly

My flight leaves Thursday evening.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Ben ParkeYou should definitely not wait to get your maps loaded in case you do have issues and you’re probably right about taking the US map off. We got the 1030 plus since we were touring in the US first and then going to Europe and needed to have all the maps loaded.hope everything goes well on your flight and you have a great tour!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ben ParkeYeah. That's the plan. First I had to deal with a tire issue and get the bike packed. Should have skipped riding yesterday and packed instead!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago