Bad planning? - update - Cycling Südtirol on a recumbent - probably - CycleBlaze

Bad planning? - update

Getting back to München

The fastest route between Toblach and München is a EuroCity train. Normally I would book the ticket online, but when I went to do that to make the initial trip to the Brenner Pass it wouldn’t let me do that with a bicycle. I did not think this through. To get back I need to book a ticket, but I can’t do that online. Toblach does not have a ticket office at its little train station and booking via phone involves a fee. Not sure how that would work given I have a prepaid cellphone SIM card. So, I need to find a ticket office. But where?  It appears the ÖBB runs the line between Venice and München. I had considered riding from Toblach to Lienz tomorrow along the Drau Radweg. Maybe I could buy the ticket there?  Does anyone know if Franzensfeste Bahnhof has ticket agents?

I have stopped at tourist info. The word is that there are ticket agents at the train station in Bruneck. I could also ride to Lienz on the Drau Radweg and purchase a ticket there. I was considering riding to Lienz tomorrow so I will likely try that first. If that doesn’t work then I will take the train to Bruneck and try my luck there. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Suzanne GibsonHi Ben,
Scott pointed out your predicament to me, wondering if I had any information. I wish I could help, but the only thing I can think of is visiting the nearest Touristinformation to find out where there might be booking offices for the ÖBB. It might be difficult since this is the last week of Bavaria's school holidays and the trains might be full. Viel Glück! I hope it all works out.
Suzanne
Reply to this comment
2 years ago