J'arrive - France, Top to Bottom - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2023

J'arrive

Paris

We all made it to Paris. After the bout with the kidney stone, I was rather worried about the flight over, but things are simmering down, down there, and the flight went as well as can be expected for a red-eye cross-Atlantic flight in coach. By the time I got through customs and reached baggage, my bag was there and the bike in a slightly beat up box. Doug and Donna showed up thirty minutes later. There was a bit of a mix up with the car service that resulted in the need for a second car, but we all got to Hotel de la Port Dorée by 5pm.

Nice to see the bike made it. Handles on one side a bit torn up, but otherwise in tact.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My limited French is already coming in handy. Our waiter for dinner said he spoke a little English, and I said "Je parle un peu Francais".  So we  traded off between English and French and managed. Ordered a Blue cheese bacon burger and as my first substantial meal in days and it was excellent.

Only after carrying my 50 lb suit case to my 4th (American 5th) floor room did I find out there was a an elevator. The elevator was the size of a phone booth, but big enough for me and a suitcase.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Small, but what else could I need?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0