Planning for the STP - Seattle to Portland 2019 - CycleBlaze

Planning for the STP

The Seattle to Portland Ride has been going on for 40 years - a 206 mile supported group (limited to 8,000 riders this year) ride between two iconic Pacific Northwest cities, done either in one day or across two. I've had it on my bucket list for a while and after doing Going to The Sun Road up to Logan Pass in Glacier National Park in 2017, I decided 2019 would be the year to do the STP.

I recruited my wife Carole to come along as my personal SAG wagon, booked the plane tickets and all the hotels. Only one real issue remained: should I ship my bike out, or should I rent one out west? I really wanted to ride my own bike, but while the shipping cost wasn't that much, I wasn't comfortable disassembling/reassembling my Trek Domane the several times that would required. Paying bike shops to do that added to the cost and just seemed like too many chances for something to go wrong - I decided to rent a Fuli Sportif 2.1 aluminum road bike from Pedal Anywhere, who included a STP discount.

Here's the overall route:

STP 2019
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0