Sierra Vista - Patagonia, AZ via Fort Huachuca: I don't think we are in Arizona. This must be the Land of Enchantment! - The Squealing with Glee Tour - CycleBlaze

January 3, 2018

Sierra Vista - Patagonia, AZ via Fort Huachuca: I don't think we are in Arizona. This must be the Land of Enchantment!

Jacinto and I have our photo ID passes good for as many entries/exits of Fort Huachuca as we care to make in 30 days. For those who might be interested in this paved climbing route over Canelo Pass. The pass is available only at the visitor center on the east side. My instructions were to duck under the unmanned gate on the west side and to mail the pass back to the Fort. The person processing Jacinto's pass did not give him any directions at all on exiting. We shall see how it goes. I'm interested to ride Canelo Pass Road. There wasn't much info here on CG.

It wasn’t even 8 AM and the guys were turning on their lights, heading for their first goal of coffee at the Whetstone convenience store. Little did I realize those first miles we rode together on day one would be the only miles. It’s a good thing we have evening and ice cream time together.

Jacinto was just washing his face as the guys pulled out of the parking lot. I didn't think there was any way they would get into their rooms in Patagonia as early as they are likely to arrive, but they were (again) up and ready and off for a ride.

Jacinto and I went to breakfast together. I successfully tried peanut butter in my oatmeal. This motel had an interesting coffee machine. It's all one machine and you push the button for hot water, hot chocolate, decaf, regular coffee, dark coffee, etc. Jacinto was trying to figure out how they kept all of those beverages prepared inside of the small machine. He finally agreed to my suggestion that everything must be powdered inside and just mixed with hot water. No wonder the coffee wasn't very good. Instant! Hurmph . . .

He debated eating one of the prepackaged muffins. I asked why he wouldn't - too much sugar. Like he hadn't just put a couple of spoonfuls of sugar in his coffee. That wasn't the same. It sure looked the same to me. He didn't eat the muffin. He had leftover BBQ and baked potato back in the room.

I went about getting ready. We have noticed that the mapping programs give us estimated ride times based on our ride history. We both plan to ride through the fort over Canelo Pass today. ridewithgps estimated my time as four hours, 3 minutes. Jacinto uses Komoot (remember he had a falling out with Bertha in Yaak, Montana?). Komoot estimated his time as three hours - an entire hour less than me. I believe those numbers are correct, especially given the climbing for today. 2,500 feet. From the profile, the first six miles into the fort would have 600 feet of climbing.

I was ready to go at 9 AM sharp - Oren, where were you to be my 'depart right on time buddy'?

I noted to Jacinto as I left that I was doing so good at riding by myself in unfamiliar areas and not getting (very) lost. He replied that I wasn't on my own, I had Bertha. Every once and a while she sends me the wrong way. But the map is always correct and it shows my location on the map. I haven't gotten too lost yet. I did have to go around the plaza an extra turn in Ajo, AZ - but that was me, not Bertha. I thought I heard Jacinto whistle at me. It wasn't him. Oren was tickled at the story. The other guys didn't believe that I could get lost going around the plaza. Oren has ridden with me too many miles. It is SO correct that I get lost. At least I can read a map.

Off I went. Traffic on the base is light because classes are on Christmas break. Light traffic was fine with me. I waited behind two cars for my turn to show my official photo ID. No problem, have a nice day. We had spent some time last night looking at the routing through the base. ridewithgps wanted me to take all sorts of little streets. We decided to stay on the main roads, since the post was basically deserted. That worked just fine. I was riding slowly uphill, but it didn't matter. There was no traffic to hold up.

I stopped at a conveniently located potty next to a ball field. The post might be deserted, but I sure wasn't going to find a bush to hide behind here! All I need was to be stopped by the military police for indecent exposure.

My road came together with Canelo Road. This is it? This yellow gate is THE gate? That can't be. I don't even have to duck under this gate. I kept going. The uphills were getting stiffer. I used my granny gear a number of times today. The wind picked up. That was a first for this trip. Ah - I saw a sign that said 4.9 miles to west gate. That makes a little more sense than the yellow gate being the official gate.

There were a number of drainages and the road followed every curve of every drainage. It's a good thing this area is scenic because I had plenty of time to take in the view. There was very little traffic. Perhaps a car every five minutes. Finally, finally, right after a honking grade that Garmin labeled as 17% (I believe it) - I could see the actual west gate and guard booth. No one was in the guard booth. I debated how I would get my bike under the gate. There wasn't enough room to skinny around the side. Probably I could just tilt my bike sideways, but the flag would be an issue. Wait! Look at this! While I'm standing here trying to puzzle things out, the gate lifted. I don't know if it was motion activated or if some remotely located person could see me there and automated the gate. Just in case it was a real person, I didn't pick my nose or do any other socially unacceptable things at the west gate area. I did take advantage of their potty.

I stopped at a pullout to take a photo of my bike. I had to get in the seat bag to get out my Clickstand. I knowingly and lazily put my leftovers on the rear rack. The wind blew my bike over. There went my left overs on the ground. I could see that coming. That's what I get for being lazy. I decided I've been married to Jacinto too long. I carefully scraped the leftovers that weren't touching the ground back into the container.

I was hoping the climbing would be finished at the west gate, but I knew better. The steep grades continued. My legs have been feeling very strong on the second part of the tour. Now they were letting me know that multiple 10%+ grades aren't so fun. That's what the Garmin says and I'm agreeing. Jacinto didn't think they were quite that steep.

Finally, finally I got to the flat part of the ride. Up here above 5,000 feet the wind was a cross wind and quite strong. I tried to figure out which direction I would be heading in relation to the wind later in the ride, but decided I might not want to know the answer.

I got some good downhill runs with fewer uphills. I stopped for a couple of photos. This side of the Huachucas has more evergreen foliage. With the curves of the mountain, I think this side is prettier.

I was just arriving at Highway 83 when I was stopped by a man who yelled out his window that he has a bike just like mine. Really? How fun. It turns out his bike wasn't exactly like mine, but we had a nice conversation anyway. I was on a downhill slant, but my elevation was still above 5,000 feet. That's good, that means I have even more downhill to go. The wind was a definite tailwind. Hmmm - life is mighty fine now I'm going more than 5 mph. What are my needs? How about food - I have left over baked potato. But this was too fine of a day to eat leftovers that have been scraped off the ground. A bathroom - but I have left the military post and their nice potties behind. The bushes here in Arizona don't have much foliage for coverage. Maybe I will just wait on both food and bathroom and enjoy the downhill.

It was 55 degrees when I left the motel this morning. It was considerably less at the top in the wind. I put on my Earbags for the first time in many days. I debated digging out my long fingered gloves, but decided I wasn't cold enough to make that effort.

Now I was close to Sonoita where we had been just a few days ago. It is interesting how seeing the same things heading the opposite direction make them seem new again. When I got close to Sonoita, I'm sure I went right past the magnificent horse sculpture outside of the rodeo grounds. Did I see it this time? Nope.

At the intersection, Bertha prompted me to go right. Aha! Bertha. I know I go left. Right, right she kept telling me. Once I made the actual turn, she gave up and admitted I was going the correct direction. She said 11 miles before I take a left. That sounds like a little slice of cycling heaven. Eleven miles of downhill with a strong tailwind. I do believe I can handle that.

I had a piece or two of potato and broke out my last Bobo Lemon Poppyseed Bar. I topped off my water bottle. There's an advantage to winter touring - I don't need near as much water as summer. Even with all of the climbing today, I've had only one bottle of water.

Just as I had my first foot on the pedal, ready to push off, there was a loud metal scraping noise right behind me. I was momentarily afraid it was a car, stopping too close and squealing the brakes. No! It was Jacinto! He was so happy about scaring me . . . he looked like a five year old. Laughing and laughing.

He was equally happy about the downhill tailwind ride to town. All I needed now was a bathroom. A rest area appeared on my left. My every desire has been taken care of. What more could I ask?

Jacinto told me to go in front and off we went. The shoulder could have had a better surface. There was a rumble strip, which made going back and forth between the nice roadway and the rough shoulder difficult. I finally gave up and just rode the shoulder. Once I did that, Jacinto caught up with me. Road conditions do influence speed.

Bertha had told me to get off the highway on to a rail trail two miles before town. She prompted me again - nope, not going there. It was a sandy dirt track. That doesn't look fun at all. I passed a sign for the Arizona Trail. I'm sure the hikers appreciated an off the road option for walking into town. I thought of the couple in the Kermit van who were waiting for their daughter to finish the trail. What an accomplishment.

Patagonia looks like my sort of town. Just a few blocks long and no stop lights. It's hard to get lost in tiny towns. We could see the Stagestop Inn on the left. I thought the guys might be lounging outside, but I saw no one on the bench. Jacinto went inside to check in and I sat on the bench with my baked potato and meat. That was a more inviting position to check the food for dirt. Jacinto came outside and helped me finish my food. He said only the last bite had grit in it.

We went through the lobby back to the rooms. The lobby was decorated with cowhide chairs and tiles with brands on each tile. The rooms were situated around a courtyard with a swimming pool in the center. Here's where the guys were hanging out. They were all pleased with their day. They took the main roads and said it was mostly downhill all day long. Harpo declared it the second best cycling day of his career, behind a day in eastern Washington. Eastern Washington? I've cycled there - it didn't do much for me. It was really hot. That's my takeaway. Harpo said he enjoyed watching the wheat wave in the wind . . . I asked what about the 50 mile downhill from the top of Lizardhead Pass to Dolores. That's a tough one to beat. But Harpo hadn't been on that trip.

Jacinto offered to buy the 4 PM beers today. There's a liquor store right across the street. I chatted a bit, then came in to shower, get the electronics charging (a time consuming chore to rotate all of the lights and computers). Then I got started on the journal.

We are having dinner at the adjoining restaurant.

Harpo will bicycle many miles for a cigar.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Harpo leaving Sierra Vista with a smile.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oren with the Giro. It is for sale, if you are interested.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spoon has the bug, but he is tough. Grit like that comes from deep within.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was certain to stay on the road in this area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view for today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Check out that tailwind!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The unmanned booth at the west gate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The gate arm was motion activated, even by a cyclist. This car was entering the fort. It sounded like making a deposit at the drive up bank window. Business was soon transacted, have a nice day, and the arm was lifted.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here we are looking at the backside of the Huachuca Mountains this is the Sonoita side. It is hilly!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tom stopped me at the intersection of Canelo Pass Road and 83 to tell me he has a bike just like mine. Turns out he has a Underseat steering Turner recumbent. He has just retired from working for the Feds in Denver and has moved home to Sonoita.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding the ATV with your dog as a passenger is one way to get the mail. Seen in Sonoita. The flag indicates a tailwind for us.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I made Jacinto’s entire trip by having the pudding scared out of me when he came screaming alongside of me and slid to a stop. He was so happy it was difficult to be angry. Even if I did jump so much I almost fell off the bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our home for the evening, The Stagestop Inn. Patagonia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto was impressed enough with the scenery to take a photo. That is an endorsement of the view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto paid $10. For this ice cream. I am both honored and horrified. Oren noted that a whole six pack of Negro Modelo cost less.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 501 miles (806 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0