Bisbee - Sierra Vista, AZ - The Squealing with Glee Tour - CycleBlaze

January 2, 2018

Bisbee - Sierra Vista, AZ

The guys agreed not to leave until 9 AM because of Bisbee's elevation and the forecasted 32 degrees overnight. They still wanted to go to breakfast as soon as the restaurant opened at 7 AM. Happily, Circle K was right next door and was open early for coffee.

I did not make the early breakfast, but said I would come over if they would stay and chat while I ate. Tom and Spoon stayed. This is a busy place, but you had better like what they have. Burritos are the breakfast choice - you can add bacon or not. There are many pastries to go with coffee.

We lingered talking and waiting for the sun to warm the air. Finally we moseyed back uphill (notably uphill!) to the motel. All the sudden the guys were all action, getting ready. Heck. They were gone by 8:15. Jacinto had pointed out the shortest route to town was back up the pass. No go. They wanted short - but even pointing out that it was ONLY 700 feet of climbing until the downhill did not convince them.

I was ready to go at the appointed hour of 9. I added some extra miles to the day to make a nice 50 miles. Jacinto was going to make a loop down to Naco at the border, and then come back to Bisbee, climb the pass, and go down the desirable Charleston Road.

I was off. 500 downhill feet in three miles and I was chilly. I continued on at a lesser grade. Traffic was light. I reached for my water bottle to discover that I had neglected to fill it. Remember that 500 downhill? I didn't care to repeat that for water. I debated my options and decided at the worst I could beg water from Jacinto as he passed me. Providing he passes me . . . hmm. My delima was solved as I rode though Lowell. I stopped at the convenience store and bought a water there. That was my first time this trip leaving my bicycle unattended. There were two cars outside and neither patron moved quickly. It didn't feel like much of a risk to leave my bike unattended.

It was another zippity doo da morning. Blue skies, no wind, warm air. In the meanwhile the news says most of the country is in a deep freeze. Even Louisiana is under a hard freeze warning. It looks like our fleeting thought of riding a Bayou Tour was luckily passed over.

I was making excellent time cruising downhill. One advantage to a winter tour is not worrying about bugs getting in my teeth when I smile!

I got closer to the town of Naco on the border. It was a little late, but after seeing several border control vehicles I started to question the wisdom of riding alone that close to the border. Too late now.

I had several texts from David over the morning. He was going to ride out and see if he ran into any of our group. He was just turning around on Herford Road when I was approaching. He turned onto Highway 92 to meet me. I was only on 92 for a few miles and was happy to turn off. The cracks were very bumpy. The guys had ridden 92 the entire way. I wonder how their butts feel?

I warned David that no one believes me, but I really am a slow rider and he was under no obligation to ride at my pace. He said he would give it a try. We got acquainted while riding together for a couple of hours. We played phone tag with Jacinto. He had changed his plan, riding the Naco loop, but not going back to Bisbee. He was enticingly close, but never did catch us. I enjoyed the backroads and felt sorry for the guys turning their butts to hamburger on the main highway.

David gave me a geography lesson for the area. The Hauchuca Mountains were ahead of us. The Mule Mountains back by Bisbee. The whole valley was the San Pedro River Valley. I remembered passing over the San Pedro River on the way to Tombstone.

Jacinto never did catch us. David already had 50 miles in and decided to head home, just a couple of blocks from my path of travel. We swung by his house and David whistled for his dog to take a spin around the neighborhood. We agreed to touch base about his joining us for dinner tonight.

I went on by myself. The day had passed quickly, chatting. Now I was ready to be there. Jacinto and I needed to get passes to cross the military base. The entrance right across from our lodging does not issue passes. We needed to go to the next entrance. It would be convenient to go now, but I wanted to go with Jacinto. Plus we weren't sure how long the pass was good for.

Bertha told me to take a right to my motel. But I turned one street too soon. That is a classic move for me. As I was making a U turn, there went Jacinto, flying passed. I yelled at him. We agreed to go get the passes now. Jacinto said he hoped it wouldn't take long. I was sure it wouldn't. Little did I know.

It was about 1.5 miles down to our turn. There was construction, but David advised us to ride just inside of the cones. That went quickly and we arrived at the fort visitor center. There were plenty of people inside. It was take a number and fill out the information on the clip board. Jacinto was hungry and whiny and didn't want to do it. "Fill out the paper or wait?" - both. After he got his paper filled out, I asked if he had any food on his bike. Yes. I sent him to eat. One woman got a year long pass. Her son was a helicopter pilot on base. Everyone else got 30 day passes. We waited about 45 minutes to get a turn. Once it was our turn, it was 2-3 minutes to get a pass.

It was downhill back to the motel. $56. for a nice two bed room. I'd love to have this place every night. It has good TV and good wi-fi. A fridge and a microwave. They are replacing the carpet with laminate floor. Our room has been done and they are working on the room next door. I'm presuming they will be finished very soon?

We showered quickly and went to find 143 tacos which I had noted had $1.50 tacos on Taco Tuesday. They were a half block away, but had sold out. Darn, double darn. I needed to get some food in Jacinto. He's grouchy and he's never grouchy.

We went around the corner and found an empty BBQ place. We ordered loaded potatoes. for $8.00 they were huge. We each ate half, but didn't dare eat more or we wouldn't be hungry for dinner at 6 PM.

It sounds like David is joining us for dinner. Check back.

We aren't doing too well. It seems the winter bugs are going around, even amongst typically healthy cyclists. Don and Marilyn have called it a trip. They've been battling several version of illness since before the trip started. Tom has had a head cold, but has been riding anyway. Now Spoon has come down with a cold. Spoon is all doctored up and in bed. He didn't come to dinner. Jerry Harp came to dinner, but didn't eat. He sat and chatted with the remaining riders plus David. David had many stories to tell. I didn't even have a chance to get annoyed about the cook missing my meal and it coming out significantly late. We ate at the Peacock Restaurant right next to our Rodeway Inn.

I have to disagree with Spoon - I think it's a nice room for $58. Spacious. New flooring. A real chair to sit in. A real TV to watch. Good wi-fi. Breakfast in the morning. I'd say that's a good value for the money. True that there are nicer places, but they dip further in your pocket. It is definitely true this isn't the best area of town. We are tucked in for the night and don't plan to go out. We are well located for exiting town in the morning.

The guys are heading north on 92. Jacinto and I are taking Canelo Pass. The weather looks excellent. Such is the life of a bicycle tourist in Arizona for the New Year.

Tom enjoys his breakfast.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The guys are ready for a downhill cruise to Sierra Vista.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jerry Witherspoon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tom Swanson.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I haven’t had a selfie with Jacinto for a few days. This is my departure and his second cup of coffee time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I so wanted to buy a shirt here. They were closed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical scenery today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Abandoned Fort Naco.
Heart 0 Comment 0
David Bain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the one lane bridge over the San Pedro river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The river was tame today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Traffic was light enough for photo opportunities.
Heart 0 Comment 0

[page 533071]

Jacinto went to the actual border in Naco. It wasn’t busy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The clumps in the trees are desert mistletoe. Who knew? They are everywhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 456 miles (734 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0