Things for small minds to ponder - Spring Break Wine Country Bike-About - CycleBlaze

April 15, 2009

Things for small minds to ponder

Last night I stayed at the Calistoga Inn. It's about 100 years old and still has rooms with only a sink, and common bathrooms. Just as I finished paying and was ready to go up to my room the front desk woman said worriedly, because she forgot to inform me before I paid, "there are no TV's or phones in the room! Did you know that?"

Yes, I told her I did know that and it's fine. She looked a little relieved and told me she often has people who check in and come right back down and want their money back when they find out there is no TV. They recently instituted a policy where they inform everyone before hand.

Now, I have a TV at home, and though my viewing habits fall mainly into the bike racing and PBS realm, I don't judge what other people watch or care to think about what they do at home.

But can't people go one night without TV, when they are on a vacation in a really cool little town with nice restaurants, coffee shops, spas, and little places with local singers, etc? How about a book?

But I guess that's for small minds to ponder?

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 268 miles (431 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0