Alexandra - up the creek without a paddle... - Great Southern Highlands Circuit - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2017

Alexandra - up the creek without a paddle...

Well, up the river without a boat...

Yesterday I had a lay day in Cromwell, to do my laundry, dry out my tent, and perform some bike maintenance. And to rest up a little and try to throw off this lurgy.

The holiday park is on the edge of the township, and in the evening I saddled up the unloaded Grashopper and went looking for a meal. I found it in the Five Stags Bar, where their Black Panther Pizza menu must surely rank as the best pizza I've ever had. The Purebred Cat pizza, with smoked salmon, streaky bacon, red onion, prawns on a guacamole base and garnished with tempura prawns and fresh salsa has to be a gold medal winner. It was so good I went back the next evening. 

With only a short distance to cover today I took my time packing up, then wandered into the town centre for breakfast. 

It's not hard to tell what the main activity is in the district.

Eventually I set out for Alexandra, with a great view back over Cromwell and Lake Dunstan as I left.

After a mostly flat ride along the lake shore I reached the Clyde dam, and diverted to visit the historic township.

Around mid afternoon I reached Alexandra and settled into a nice room, then began preparing for the tomorrow's ride down the Roxburgh Gorge, which involves a 13km boat transfer along the gorge. But to my dismay I was informed that the next boat won't be until Tuesday, and by then I have to be in Dunedin. Bugger!

So I've opted for a shuttle transfer to Millers Flat, and will continue on the Clutha Gold Trail the next day.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0