12/24/23 San Ignacio - south - CycleBlaze

December 24, 2023

12/24/23 San Ignacio

Only the pointy parts were actually steep
Heart 1 Comment 0

Pleasant ride today. Not much traffic, decent tailwind for much of the day though it became an annoying headwind at the end. I met my first cyclist on the road, Eduard from the Netherlands who entered Baja a day after me and rode here via a largely dirt route. 

I was offered a nice and reasonably priced room just off the plaza by the fellow running a pharmacy/convenience store on the entrance to town, but I opted against it because a neighbor was blaring loud music and I feared it might go late. I checked out a couple of spots and opted for the most expensive place in town, the government run Desert Inn. Comfortable and quiet, plus it being Christmas Eve and I’ve been good this year. 

I met Eduard in the plaza in the evening, joined by Alex traveling from Alaska (also mostly dirt) and later by Anna, cycling pavement like a normal person, but with her very large dog, so not. It was fun. It’s likely we’ll meet again in LaPaz, the ferry schedule being what it is. 

Traveling through the El Vizcaino Biosphere Reserve
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
San Ignacio lagoon, spring fed
Heart 3 Comment 0
Eduard passed me on the hills approaching town
Heart 2 Comment 0
I later joined him for date shakes in the plaza
Heart 4 Comment 0
He’s cycling south from Calgary until August next year
Heart 2 Comment 0
San Ignacio plaza was well lit but largely empty
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Watched Christmas mass for a while
Heart 1 Comment 0
Anna is traveling from Seattle to Argentina with her dog Leah. Oops, wrong dog
Heart 2 Comment 0
Anna and Leah
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 567 miles (912 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0