12/19/23 near Chapala - south - CycleBlaze

December 19, 2023

12/19/23 near Chapala

Heart 1 Comment 0

I had both oatmeal and pancakes for breakfast this morning. I knew I was going to have to camp tonight and was aiming for Chapala, a truck stop about 50 miles away, where I had camped in 2014. I arrived a few hours before sundown and got some food at the restaurant. While I was eating a truck pulled up and the noise reminded me of how loud l could expect the night to be. I decided to ride for another few miles and camp in the desert away from the road, which I did. I didn’t take any pictures because I pitched my tent in a stream bed and was embarrassed to document such a foolish choice. But there were thorns everywhere else, and I’d seen satellite photos showing no chance of rain and decided to risk it. Slept well. 

Leaving Cantaviña in the morning
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMexican giant cactus.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/199206-Pachycereus-pringlei
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Third breakfast
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The highest point on Mex 1. It’s all downhill now
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 371 miles (597 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0