04/24/24 Managua - south - CycleBlaze

April 24, 2024

04/24/24 Managua

Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn’t intend to go all the way to Managua today, my destination was Nagarote, a sane 30 mile ride from Leon. But when I got there around 11, I found the one hotel to be a depressing place to spend the rest of the day. I was enjoying the ride, warm but not too hot thanks to a stiff wind and the road flat enough that the wind was merely annoying and not exhausting. So I pressed on, hoping I’d find something nicer once I got to Lake Managua. By then I was close enough that it just made sense to power through to the city where I had lots of choices and so I did. 

I’d have skipped Managua altogether if there was a good route to avoid it, but now that I’m here I want to visit the Plaza de la Revolución, which I last saw in 1982, almost exactly 42 years ago to the day. That was a memorable visit and I’m certain I’ll find a ghost or two, but that’s tomorrow. Now I just want to rest.

Leaving Leon in the early morning, with all sorts of bird sounds filling the air
Heart 2 Comment 0
A very pretty park on the south end of town
Heart 2 Comment 0
Peñas Blancas is the Costa Rican border, 3 or 4 days hence
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like the morning views
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looks like a eucalyptus grove
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Revolutionary battleground
Heart 0 Comment 0
La Paz del Centro had an inviting entrance, it drew me in for a look
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretThe purple and yellow pig (?) is quite whimsical! Glad you have found something to smile about :)
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
The local heroes memorialized in the park were mostly teenagers killed in the 1980’s during Regan’s Contra intervention
Heart 0 Comment 0
Palm fronds, for thatch I presume
Heart 2 Comment 0
Many (many!) brick and tile shops south of La Paz.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This place was the largest, but there were mostly family businesses. One son mushing the mud with his feet, another filling the forms, others tending to the drying and firing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yield to oncoming carts
Heart 1 Comment 0
Momotombo puffing away in the distance
Heart 2 Comment 0
A very pretty entrance to Nagarote
Heart 2 Comment 0
Killing time in Nagarote while trying to decide if I should stay or press on
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lake Managua appears
Heart 2 Comment 0
500 cordobas (about $13) for the pair. To eat
Heart 0 Comment 0
I got to the edges of Managua around 5
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretLooks like they have rush hour traffic, too..
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
While dozing in Nagarote I found a place in Managua that looked nice. Ben Linder was an American engineer who was murdered by the contras in 1983 while working on an electrification project
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don’t know all the details but the owner of the guest house runs medical brigades and clean water projects for rural communities. A nice person
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 3,760 miles (6,051 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0