04/23/24 day off in León - south - CycleBlaze

April 23, 2024

04/23/24 day off in León

I took it easy today. Slept in, found lattes and smoothies, visited a museum, napped in air conditioned comfort and planned the next 7 days of travel, 8 if I take another day off which I’m sure I’ll want to do. I’m feeling much better physically and ready to get moving again. 

You can supposedly drink the tap water in Nicaragua. I saw people filling water bottles from the sink, but I stuck with the environmentally unfriendly plastic bottles, ‘cause I’m a gringo.  Many (most?) stores and restaurants list prices in dollars and accept both dollars and cordobas. There are affluent locals and tourists in the nice places, and some seriously down on their luck folk sleeping in the streets and asking for alms. The hospital and medical school look apocalyptic but the Nike store is fancy. Capitalism always wins

This picture kind of distills what it’s like in León
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another funeral
Heart 0 Comment 0
The former city hall, damaged during Somoza’s bombing of the city, is now a museum of the revolution
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s basically newspaper clippings and photographs
Heart 0 Comment 0
But mostly it’s an empty shell
Heart 0 Comment 0
What I found interesting was seeing photographs of events that I clearly remember watching and reading about in US news at the time. How did I get to be so old?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The museum tour included a stroll on the roof, with a nice view of the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
The roof is metal, full of holes and actually very dangerous to walk on. Just follow the spray painted arrows and you’ll be fine
Heart 1 Comment 0
The view from the top
Heart 1 Comment 0
The old theater, seen from the museum and now a convenience store where I bought my ice and water for tomorrow
Heart 0 Comment 0
They still have a bit of an issue with US participation in Nicaraguan history. The contra debacle remains a sore spot
Heart 0 Comment 0
A mural depicting the killing of students, at the site where it happened
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another old church. I didn’t do a lot of exploring, I found it easier to relax in air conditioned cafes
Heart 1 Comment 0
Watermelon, anyone? The street fruit is warm, I don’t consume it. But I did have several fresh, iced smoothies which were nice
Heart 0 Comment 0
Full moon on the right, street light on the left
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0