04/16/24 Nacaome - south - CycleBlaze

April 16, 2024

04/16/24 Nacaome

Heart 0 Comment 0

The roosters outside my room began crowing at 1:30 am, I denied it until 4:30 and was out the door by 5.  I found sandals instead of coffee at the gas station on the way out of town, a big win for me.  The border crossing was uneventful and inspection free. I changed some dollars into lempira and had breakfast before doing the easy 20 miles to Nacaome.  It was barely 11 am, and I could have done an additional 18 miles to San Lorenzo which is rumored to be cooler. But I’m in no hurry and found a nice place with a pool and where I can hopefully sleep in tomorrow and still get to San Lorenzo before noon. Taking only small bites and quitting early in pleasant accommodations is working well for dealing with the heat. 

Last look at El Salvador
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking across the bridge from El Salvador to Honduras
Heart 1 Comment 0
The border
Heart 2 Comment 0
I paid a $3 entry fee and was stamped in and sent on my way
Heart 1 Comment 0
I met a guy on a horse
Heart 1 Comment 0
He saw me taking a picture and galloped up for a wave
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Pretty much *every* house has a hammock. If not outside they’ll be one in the living room next to the front door
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
I liked the colors, I’m ignorant of where I am
Heart 0 Comment 0
A nice new road and a joy to ride on
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nondescript terrain, dry and few trees. No shade but clouds helped
Heart 1 Comment 0
My first impression is it looks a lot like El Salvador, slightly poorer and more litter
Heart 1 Comment 0
I encountered Toni and Luru, from Germany and cycling north from Ushuaia since last October. They looked remarkably clean and fresh for having cycled the length of South America!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Valle is the department/state/county that I’m in
Heart 1 Comment 0
This will do
Heart 1 Comment 0
No motivation
Heart 0 Comment 0
Later in the afternoon I wandered off to check out the town and get a Honduran SIM
Heart 0 Comment 0
quite casual about the wires
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a lot of energy in the street market, but it might have just been me
Heart 2 Comment 0
“girlfriend of the sun” is the town motto
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pandemic residue on the floor of the church
Heart 1 Comment 0
I bought some mangoes and a guanábana for snacking later. I hope they’re good, the fruits were very warm when I bought them
Heart 1 Comment 0
Took a tuk-tuk back to the hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Decent beer
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 3,549 miles (5,712 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0