03/05/24 Veracruz - south - CycleBlaze

March 5, 2024

03/05/24 Veracruz

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had thought I might stay two nights in Xalapa, but the steep hills made it not so interesting. I took my time leaving, having two bougie coffees on my way out and thinking it was going to be an easy 60 mile coast to the coast. I did a lot of coasting, but there was a significant amount of climbing into or out of the various towns and a long stretch of rollers heading into the city. 

The air got thicker and warmer as I got lower, triggering all sorts of core memories from my tropical childhood. I’m in a different world now, feels exotic. 

Out of Xalapa.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trumpet tree, according to my app. Feeling springlike
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My tire went soft, I found and pulled a wire and pumped it up. It was soft again after a couple of hours, I pumped it up a second time and made it to Veracruz. I’ll see what it looks like tomorrow
Heart 0 Comment 0
The smallest town I passed through today
Heart 1 Comment 0
It had a thriving roadside nursery trade
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rode passed without stopping
Heart 0 Comment 0
The look today. Thick air
Heart 0 Comment 0
Buttercup tree
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stopped for an ice cream here
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was riding beside a series of concrete ponds, thinking it was some kind of treatment plant, then looked closer
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a treatment plant. Not really sure what, exactly
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was expecting to coast into Veracruz, but had 20 miles of rollers instead
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m not sure what “90 salaries” means, but it feels like a stiff fine. For littering. Good luck with that
Heart 1 Comment 0
I came into Veracruz through the backside
Heart 0 Comment 0
Parts had a tropical city feel
Heart 1 Comment 0
But it was mostly a grim entrance
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was tired and it was late when I got into the center. It was an easy decision to just take a room at one of the nice hotels on the plaza
Heart 3 Comment 2
Robert BryceI have great memories of Christmas Eve 1976 in the plaza with you. Little kids all dressed up, balloons, mariachi music. . .
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David ChavezTo Robert BryceSo do I. It took a long time for me to decide that the zocalo was the same plaza. There is a big renovation project blocking off both sides and there are a lot of trees that didn’t used to be there
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 2,399 miles (3,861 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0