03/04/24 Xalapa, very xilly - south - CycleBlaze

March 4, 2024

03/04/24 Xalapa, very xilly

Dropping out of the Sierra Madre and into the Veracruz Basin
Heart 0 Comment 0

Pleasant, easy riding, mostly downhill as I shed about half the altitude I need to get rid of to reach the coast. It’s all downhill from here.  I found Xalapa to be a busy, happening place but all happening on different levels. The city center is on a very steep hill with the east-west streets high above each other. I’m going to decide in the night if I stay another day or just do the dash to the coast. 

I headed onto the toll road this morning, deciding that would give me sane shoulders and grades as I begin the descent
Heart 0 Comment 0
and for the first time ever I was told I wasn’t allowed and directed to go this way to the free road
Heart 0 Comment 0
The free road wasn’t a bad choice
Heart 0 Comment 0
Relaxing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Scenic
Heart 1 Comment 0
Passed through a variety of towns
Heart 2 Comment 0
Xalapa peeking through the haze
Heart 0 Comment 0
Friendly welcome
Heart 1 Comment 3
Karen PoretIs the orange color structure a temporary foot traffic bridge or a crane ? It actually appears to come out from the tree on the right side. Interesting angle and structure!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David ChavezTo Karen PoretIt’s a permanent foot bridge
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Karen PoretTo David ChavezNow, why couldn’t I figure this out on my own without asking you? :(
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Nice bike path for much of the entrance into the city
Heart 1 Comment 0
I sat in the plaza while searching for an Airbnb
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found a nice Airbnb around the corner (and down a steep hill) from the plaza. My room is two flights up, my bike is safely and invisibly locked to this brick lattice
Heart 0 Comment 3
Karen PoretNot sure about that “vent” on upper right..
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David Chavezthat kind of stuff is so common it doesn’t register anymore
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Karen PoretTo David ChavezFunky work ethics at your disposal..pun intended..
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Xalapa is all hills
Heart 1 Comment 0
This two block stretch is the only flat in the city center
Heart 0 Comment 0
Steep hills between blocks
Heart 2 Comment 0
Long term protest in front of the church and across from city hall
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 2,331 miles (3,751 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0