01/25/24 San Miguel de Allende, for a while - south - CycleBlaze

January 25, 2024

01/25/24 San Miguel de Allende, for a while

Heart 0 Comment 2
George MercerI'm missing your journal entries, Dave. Hope you are well and all is OK.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezAll’s well, new update just posted
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

My shifter is acting up again, my crank fell off and I really want my camera and the tire and other stuff I was hoping to get from my sister before she had to cancel her trip to Oaxaca, so I’m parking myself in San Miguel de Allende for a week(?) while DHL works its magic. I’ve got a decent Airbnb, there’s good coffee here and it’s all very pretty, so this should be manageable. 

It was a tense escape from Guanajuato, step and narrow streets plus morning rush hour. I didn’t relax until I got to Yerbabuena where I stopped for tamales and atole for breakfast
Heart 1 Comment 0
The main street of the nearby town of La Sauceda was packed with food stalls and pop up shops selling clothes, camp chairs and other stuff
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was for all the pilgrims passing through on their way to San Juan de los Lagos. The first I’ve seen since San Miguel el Alto, they are walking from Queretaro, 80 miles to the east. Young and old, some on crutches, some carrying babies and all cheerful and friendly
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pilgrim camp
Heart 0 Comment 0
Several were carrying crosses or portraits of the Virgin Mary
Heart 0 Comment 0
I kept meeting groups all day. There were occasional rest stops where people had set up stations to hand them food and water
Heart 0 Comment 0
Outside San Miguel de Allende. I don’t know what it is, but I liked the color
Heart 1 Comment 0
This isn’t supposed to happen
Heart 0 Comment 1
Susan ForsOops 😬
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Apparently it just came loose, but now I’m missing the cover
Heart 0 Comment 2
Rich FrasierGood thing the bolt was still there. This happened to us in 2022 and the bolt was long gone by the time the pedal came off. It's not clear to me what caused our de-pedaling, either.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezI was glad it happened very gently, as I was meandering into town. I’ve since imagined all sorts of alternate scenarios when it could have occurred, yikes!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Interesting
Heart 1 Comment 0
Walking my bike on the cobblestones entering San Miguel
Heart 3 Comment 0
It’s a beautiful place
Heart 3 Comment 0
Interesting architecture, plenty of tourists but a lot lower energy than Guanajuato
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,558 miles (2,507 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe stayed in San Miguel de Allende some 45 years ago with our 4 young children for 3 weeks. We remember it as a quiet, sleepy little place. Sure looks different now. Hope you enjoy your stay and get your bicycle issues resolved.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Victa CalvoReally enjoying your journal David. Keep pedalling, take a lot of pictures...
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezThanks! I hope to be on the road again in a few more days
Reply to this comment
3 months ago