01/04-06/24 La Paz - south - CycleBlaze

January 6, 2024

01/04-06/24 La Paz

Heart 0 Comment 0


I had thought when I got here I’d do bike maintenance, shop for replacements and lounge on the beach but when I’d finished the first two I discovered I really wanted to leave for Mazatlán instead.  I’ve enjoyed my ride down Baja but it’s a repeat of a previous adventure, chosen in part for just that reason, a gentle return to touring after my forced break this fall.   So no beach for me, this mini Training Ride is now complete and it’s time for the main act. 

First order of business was getting my shifter cables replaced. It’s a complicated process and I’ve watched enough experts struggle with it that I was more interested in finding a person with skilled hands than experiencing the struggle myself and doing a half-assed job.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lenny at Thunders Bikes was very interested in my drivetrain and with a PDF of the manual he had things fixed in 24 hours. He also volunteered to coach any future bike mechanic I may need down the road.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I couldn’t sleep, fretting about my bike not being next to me. Then I remembered I had AirTags and could check 😊
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was so happy to find this!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Found it here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Every time the light changed he’d drag out his tight rope, juggle a bit and then walk the waiting cars for tips. Not an easy job
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of murals in this pleasant city
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
21 years it took to grow this cover
Heart 2 Comment 0
I reconnected with Kent who arrived a day after me, having cycled the dirt down the coast. I introduced him to Lenny as a bike box resource and said our goodbyes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Boarding in 3 hours
Heart 4 Comment 2
Greg YuleDavid, i met a Serbian Tourer a couple of days ago who mentioned you and this site. Unfortunately I just got to La Paz today Id be interested in talking of your future plans. Safe travels. Greg.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
David ChavezHi Greg, my plans evolve day by day, but my short term goal is to get to a mid-February rendezvous in Oaxaca. I’m currently working on a route via Guadalajara. If you plan to go that way we may still meet, I ride slow.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Today's ride: 14 miles (23 km)
Total: 993 miles (1,598 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0