Day 9 - Moncks Corner to Santee State Park - Sound-Cloud Solo Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 11, 2021

Day 9 - Moncks Corner to Santee State Park

I must admit I am fortunate to have this opportunity to travel by bike ....  looking back over Day 9, I'll take a deep breath. The warmth from the fire is so settling as darkness take over....

Day 9 was a push for me..  I was going to stay another day in the military "Short Stay" campground, but the weather looked nice and thunder storms were in the forecast for the next day.  

Thought - why waste a good weather day to ride in the rain the next.

Another Church Break...
Heart 1 Comment 0

So, I packed up and headed out to SC 52, but quickly realized I missed a turn.  Got out of that pickle to find that 52 - a four lane road - was going straight  through the miracle mile of Moncks Corner. Fun!

To top that off a steep bridge appeared.  I felt the pressure, I assure you, to get the Trucker up and over the climb.  

A dump truck pulled in behind me, I think to slow traffic, and followed me up to the top.  No I didn't get pictures.

That would paint the story for the day.  I need to add that I made it safely to SC 6, my saving grace to set my northerly course to Santee.  Note: It is the evacuation route for the region.

I did try a short cut around a section of SC 6, but found that someone had built a fence across it.  The road was so nice too...no traffic.  

Oh well I doubled back to 6 and put my nose down.  The road followed the lake, but you never saw it. I made a couple stops when I could.  One was a wildlife management thingy, I watched people launch boats as I had my breakfast - four pecan rolls.

At the Management thingy...no port-a-jons or trash cans...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

The shoulder was comfortable and traffic was light.  I felt fortunate there was a slight tailwind too.

Evacuation signs were well posted - almost as good as the trail signage that kept me on track at the beginning.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Well, the traffic picked up and the shoulder slowly disappeared as I approached 12 miles to go.  

I stopped at a convenience store to get fuel and regain my composer only to be told "...are going in there...I'd think twice...your stuff won't be there when you come out.

Nice right, scared to death I took the advice and left.  (Thinking where is Cowboy when you need him - met him early on in the adventure.)  Anyway I completed the *journey* and arrived at a very beautiful state park - Santee.

Heart 2 Comment 0

 'm sitting here next to campfire safe and sound.  It is calming and beautiful.  Yes, family fans I have marsh mellows!

Tamora thank again!

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 468 miles (753 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Tamora StumGlad you made it safe!! Nice Fire! Love T
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerWith your help too.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
brandon spanglerstay safe and pump those legs!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago