Snowman Slumgullion: Yes, that's correct! - Expanded Slumgullion Tour 2009 - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2009

Snowman Slumgullion: Yes, that's correct!

I've said it before and I'll say it again. The Slum is a fun, fun ride. Low traffic and high scenery. A bit of all Colorado has to offer - alpine, wetlands, farmland, and sagebrush. Let's not forget the low traffic part. I have to be honest and admit that I have done very little riding around the Denver area. But what I have done has way more traffic than riding in southwestern Colorado. I guess it's easier to access the mountains around Denver than to get down in the western corner of Colorado.

All six of us had a great time. Next summer's schedule is to ride the Pacific Coast. Tentatively, all of us will be able to ride all or part of the coast. That must mean we had a good time? I do think so!

Of course, the Slum is my favorite local route. John Stevens and I kept teasing Jacinto that he needs to ride some 'real' passes now that he has the 'easy' ones under his belt. Totally pulling his leg there - Kebler and the Slum are both serious big boy passes. But Wolf Creek is just south of the Slum. It's a real Grand Daddy. I've ridden Wolf Creek twice - both times from west to east. The first time I didn't approach the pass with enough respect. About half way up I knew I was in real trouble. Far too late then to start fueling. The next summer I rode Wolf Creek again with John Orlowski. We took our time. We ate a good breakfast, stopped at the bottom of the pass for a PB&J. Took breaks on the way up. Had an extended lunch break at the water fall. We reached the top in good shape - good enough to stop on the way down and soak our feet in the river! I'd like to ride Wolf Creek again. It's been a number of years. I enjoy cycling passes from both directions, that way I can say for sure I have 'done' the pass. Wolf Creek is a toughie to ride both directions. Climbing from the east the climb is up through the narrow canyon with no shoulder. If I have have to have a no shoulder area, I prefer to get through it quickly on the downhill rather than slowly on the uphill. I'm not sure if/when I'll climb Wolf Creek from the east.

John Stephens said he thought the Extended Slum would be a ride that Bicycle Adventure Club would be interested in. He has friends riding it this fall with the thought of including it in BAC's ride lineup. I am full of pride - this is a great ride. How can we make it better? How about extending the fun even longer? Can we add another loop? We talked about adding a loop over Cottonwood Pass into Buena Vista and back over Monarch Pass into Gunnison. Cottonwood is dirt, but good dirt. It would be nice. Hwy 50 into and out of Gunnison is one of my least favorite roads in Colorado. Too much traffic in comparison with other roads in the area. What about heading down to Wolf Creek? Yes, that would make a third, big loop! It would look like a snowman, in my eyes. Jacinto says that's just confusing things - people will think it's a winter ride. Whenever we get a chance to ride it, I'll have to think of another name. But just in case someone else has an opportunity - here it is!

First loop -smallest- the Kebler Pass loop. Gunnison, Hwy 92 into Crawford, Hwy 133 to Kebler Pass/Crested Butte and back to Gunnison.

Second loop medium size- the Slum - Saguache, Creede, Lake City, Gunnison.

Third loop - biggest -Wolf Creek loop - South Fork, Monte Vista, Antonito, Chama, Pagosa Springs, South Fork.

Doesn't that look like a snowman to you? Yeah - I know, it's like the car I saw in the river in Idaho - it was really a rock - it's all in the eye of the beholder.

I would do the ride in a serpentine manner. Roughly - Crawford, Crested Butte, Gunnison, Lake City, South Fork, Monte Vista,Antonito, Chama, Pagosa Springs, Del Norte, Saguache, Gunnison, back to Crawford. The overnights on the Wolf Creek loop I'd have to look at in detail as I haven't ridden that section. But it would be nice to overnight in Monte Vista - they have the Movie Manor Motel there - when you stay at the motel the window opens onto a drive in movie theatre. You have a speaker in your room and you can watch the movie from there. I think that is so cool - but I've never actually stayed there. One of these days!

I know we won't have time to do this ride in 2010 - but it's on my list! Jacinto needs to experience Wolf Creek - see if he comes back alive! If you decide to try this ride, please share your experience with me.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0