Good equipment: Gear from small companies that deserve your business. - Expanded Slumgullion Tour 2009 - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2009

Good equipment: Gear from small companies that deserve your business.

I'd like to give a plug to a couple of small companies whose products make my cycling life more enjoyable.

I use a Clickstand bike stand to keep my bike upright when there isn't a handy guardrail, tree, etc. The Clickstand is very lightweight, yet strong. My fully loaded touring bike has never fallen over while using the Clickstand.

Here is a link to their website, the Clickstand works will all manners of bicycles, this photo shows my bike in 2008. http://www.click-stand.com/Recunbents___Bike_Friday.php

I use Spiz meal replacements when touring. http://www.spiz.net/ I originally heard about Spiz from someone on BROL (recumbent list). Spiz is high calorie and has all of the vitamins and electrolytes. I have compared Spiz to several other meal replacements. It offers more nutrients, more calories and does not have that nasty artificial sweetener aftertaste. I like the chocolate flavor better than the vanilla. Randy offers free samples. He also goes above and beyond in customer service. He agreed to drop ship Spiz to me on my North Star trip so I didn't have to pay shipping to my home and then to General Delivery along the road. I did not end up doing this since I aborted the trip. But Randy did go to the trouble of checking out international postage and was ready to help me.

To be a bit on the crude side, but we are all friends here, right? - I frequently cycle in remote areas with limited bathroom facilities. Cyclists need to take in many calories as fuel to get down the road. I find it much easier to offload liquid calories than solid calories. Hope I phrased that in a delicate manner. : )

Jacinto wore a bright orange Alert Shirt http://alertshirt.com/ every day of the ride. He was visible from way, way down the road. Dustin and Tim both wore Alert Shirts and also had their gloves. I find the fabric too thick for summer wear, but do wear them in the fall/winter.

Although I did not use my Luxury Lite Cot this tour, I'd like to give the company a plug. Sure makes my nights in the tent much more comfortable! http://luxurylite.com/

www.earbags.com are always stored in my rackbag, no matter the season. Seems that if I get a bit chilly, this is the first thing that helps me warm up.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0