There are (other) crazy people out here - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2023

There are (other) crazy people out here

A bit chilly this morning, 49.  So I got a late shove off from Aunt Sally’s Pedal Stop. I was really sorry to have to leave. Great place.  ie: Greg Brown was right   I took the alternate route as outlined on the ACA maps and if you are reading this as a cyclist thinking about this TransAm route, I would recommend this particular alternate. It is about 30% paved , the rest a well packed dirt/gravel. And while not as flat as US 93 that it parallels, the views of the valley and surrounding mountains is fantastic.   Once on 93 you have to contend with moderate traffic and road noise. 

I only planned on a 38 mile ride, stopping early to avoid predicted rain and to rest for the upcoming climb, so I took my time. Stopped  for groceries, lunch, drinks, pictures. The alternate route took me right past The Red Barn Bike Shop, where I had my current wheels built. Too early though, they were closed.  

Got to ride through some open cattle range and over several cattle guards in the road. My first this trip. No cattle wandering about however. It amazes me how a simple steel grate in the road can prevent these huge beasts from crossing. Also saw signs warning of  big horn sheep crossings but saw none of those either. 

The rivers and streams here are flowing full speed. Must by moving at 15 knots most are.  Still only found 2-3 places where one could jump in if one desired.  If your cycling this route the Spring Gulch Camp looks like a great place to hang out. Well manicured lawns, great tv/tent sites, water, vault toilets, a camp host, AND river access.  If I had known I would have planned to stay here. 

As I came out of that camp a fully loaded rider caught up to me,  Josh from Oregon by way of  Asia and Chicago.  Well he was from Chicago, spent time traveling Asia, before moving to Oregon where he works fighting wild fires.  Never met one of these guys either.   Thanks for stoic service.  And for some of my followers, he was/will always be a Marine.  Thanks again. 

As we approached Sula and camp Sula, where I had a tent site reserved, two crazier than us cyclist came along. These two were loaded very light and are taking part in the TransAm race, a race across the US for time. Each rider is self supported the entire way. I think top finishers complete the ride, Oregon to Virginia,  in something like 2-3 weeks. Someone Google that for me please.  Anyway, a couple days ago Josh hooked up with one of theses crazies and did something like 180 miles in 18 hours, over LOLO pass!!!!! Now that is crazy. 

As a storm was brewing ahead of us over Chief Joseph Pass we decided to stay at Sula Camp. 20 buck gets you a grassy tent spot with electric, showers, Wi-Fi, and all the skeeters you can stand.   The restaurant and camp store are closed on Monday and Tuesday ( today).  While setting up tents along comes crazy Chris, another crazy cross  US rider. Except Chris is crazy smart. He has his wife SAGGING for him and carrying his gear…….at least for the next week and a half when he is on his own. Needless to say he is having a blast on these climbs.  Faye will catch up to him though.   (You reading this dear?)   And they have the friendliest husky/sheep dog ever. 

Well, showers and dinner done, we were driven into our tents by swarms of skeeters as the wind died down.  

So time for pics:

Bitterroot Valley Scenes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trapper Peak
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering Darby
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Red Barn Bikes
Heart 0 Comment 0
More Bitterroot Valley from the alternate route.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rock Creek…..almost home?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Best camp site found.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Campground
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’ve seen a few of these in the ER. NOT a pretty site.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Richard CadwalladerSad they a closed. My brother lived 10 outside of Sula and we used to eat there every time I went to visit. Great food and the Bloody Marys were to die for.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Didn’t see any of these.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crazy TransAm racers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camp
Heart 0 Comment 0
Camp
Heart 0 Comment 0

PS.: I forgot to mention Pickles. Well actually Ron Pickles. A big guy in a big BMW motorcycle tooling around the mountains.  A different kinda crazy. 

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 620 miles (998 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Frank SowaFun/Fast/Furious; describes your time at JMU ???
Formal rehab starts tomorrow, already doing "my thing" and given that Friday is 8 weeks post surgery i'm ready to start loading up the iron and get ready for a comp ::-) AND i really, really envy you and the sights/sounds/interactions you are experiencing, THANK YOU for sharing. I did not know you were an English major as your writing and use of phrases is OUTSTANDING.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Frank SowaEnglish major/outstanding……funny.
Take it slow. Ha ha.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago