Starting Over - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

July 30, 2023

Starting Over

FEELS LIKE:  

"Starting Over"

Well the road rolls out like a welcome mat. To a better place than the one we're at. And I ain't got no kinda plan. But I've had all of this town I can stand. And I got friends out on the coast. We can jump in the water and see what floats. We've been saving for a rainy day. Let's beat the storm and be on our way. It don't matter to me. Wherever we are is where I wanna be. And, honey, for once in our life. Let's take our chances and roll the dice. 
This might not be an easy time. There's rivers to cross and hills to climb. Some days we might fall apart. And some nights might feel cold and dark. When nobody wins afraid of losing. And the hard roads are the ones worth choosing. Some day we'll look back and smile. And know it was worth every mile. 
Starting over.     Chris Stapleton 

RAGBRAI is in the past. On my own again. The overall plan?……..Follow the Great American Rail Trail in reverse of my east to west route of 2021. The challenge?…….I have the original route saved in Ridewithgps but except for bits and pieces I don’t recall specifics of most of it. For example: Where did I stay?…..Is camping available?…..The trails are nice but the route has some roads too.  Are the roads safe?……Are there any available warm showers hosts?…..Some roads were in the boonies. Can I carry enough water?……Will the weather hold or will the rain gods find me again?……Will Clunk flair up? Or AGM? ….Will I meet anyone else traveling my way by bike? ………It all adds up to STARTING OVER!  

So today I loaded up on groceries….enough for 3 meals and a bunch of snacks.  I’ve added a cheap pair of Walmart shorts and a shirt, a lightweight backpacking cup, some needed toiletries, and sox.  And I’m chillin and eating like I’m starving. I probably need to rearrange my panniers as I have a few new items but have sent things home also…..well Steve S is doing that for me.  And I may send home a couple other items when the USPS opens again on Monday. 

With all this uncertainty, the trip feels like starting all over again. When I left Seattle June 1 I had some set backs and by day three I was not certain I could continue. Hopefully this will not be a repeat of that time and I can quickly get back into the swing of things.  At least I have a number of rail trails to follow this time. And I have a WarmShowers host for post RAGBRAI day 1. 

See you down the road!!!!

PS: RAGBRAI was tough but it allowed me to catch up with BOB.  I’ll post pics one day! 

      

Today's ride: 6 miles (10 km)
Total: 2,513 miles (4,044 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0