PRCA Rodeo in Wall - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2023

PRCA Rodeo in Wall

Rest day number 5 at the Motel Welch in Wall SD was a good day. I ate, watched tv, ate some more, looked at Facebook, ate some more, etc, etc, etc.  I can’t seem to get full. 

The PRCA Rodeo started at 6 and was just a couple blocks away so I went to see what it was all about. These guys are apparently the best of the best on the pro rodeo circuit, so said the announcer.  Tonight was the stack competition.  The main competition is tomorrow but they had so many contestants they had to have an additional night called the stack. I got to see steer wrestling, team roping, and tie down roping. Next was to be cowgirl competition but they had to delay it as there was another cowgirl rodeo someplace down the road and the girls needed extra time to get to Wall. So I headed out.  Besides I needed to eat again. 

Tomorrow I guess I’ll head out on I90 and stop at the Minute Man Missile Silo site. Looks like you can only see from ground level through glass windows in the top, no one is allowed down below. But it’s on the way so I thought I’d check it out. Then onto Kadoka where I hope to find a tent site.  I called the only campgrounds I could find but no answer. Sheri says no camping at the park. After that on to Pol’s RV park in Murdo. Pol says he has a tent space. Then I head south to the Cowboy trail and its threat of goat heads. 
See you on the road…….

Boy have times changed
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

PS: If your riding this way and need a room, this little motel is the greatest. Nothing fancy but well kept and clean. The folks working here are very nice. They have a room just for ice, coffee, tea, soda, and microwave.  Rags are available to clean your car or whatever. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Chris DavisTim- it was nice to visit with you in Wall by the Jackelope. We were impressed with your journey. Good luck as you continue in. Best to you - Chris and Adora Davis from Oklahoma.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Chris DavisIt was great meeting you guys also. I enjoyed our conversation. Thanks for responding here. I really appreciate it.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago