Forth Zero Day. - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2023

Forth Zero Day.

Two days ago I broke a spoke on the rear wheel, drive side. To replace it one would need to remove the cassette (rear gear cluster). I was cheap and decided before leaving I would not need the tool to do this. Yesterday I used a Kevlar spoke to replace the original.  Actually you can’t call it Kevlar since that is a brand name. This is called Fiber Fix. FIBERFIX Emergency Spoke Replacement Kit. https://a.co/d/hFZyiS9

I’ve carried this thing around for years hoping never to have to use it. In fact I had to watch the YouTube video to figure it out. Anyway, today was a zero miles day as I needed to take the bike to a bike shop for a real spoke replacement. The guys at the shop were great but I should have k own I was not in trouble when  they said they had never seen a Kevlar spoke before. Long story short, they replaced the spoke but did not true the wheel. Lessened learned. Alway ask if the shop is capable and always be sure to specify every aspect of what is needed.  I spent an hour and a half truing the wheel the best I could while it was on the bike but I’m sure I have thrown the fishing off. I will need to find a capable shop in a day or two to fix it right. Til then I think it’s good and I’ll keep an eye on it. 

A zero day gave me the opportunity to sit in a jacuzzi and get in the pool. This really is a nice motel. I’m surprised as Best Western in general have gone down hill over the years. 

Speaking of hills:  my next stop is Devils Tower.  I am excited to see this in person and maybe get a selfie with ET.  I’ve learned this is actually the core of an ancient volcano that has had its surrounding soils eroded away.   

As I write it is only 1500 hours and nearly dark as the afternoon storms move in once more. The weather man says I should expect the same for the next two week. Oh joy. More type two fun for me.  I’m hoping to have a warm showers host tomorrow but have not heard yet. Fingers crossed as I am sure I’ll be wet by the time I reach the Tower 63 miles away.   And about 850 to get to the start of RAGBRAI.  


 No pics today. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0