Day Four: A Non-RAGBRAI Day - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2023

Day Four: A Non-RAGBRAI Day

Today I was a non-conformist…..a non-RAGBRAI rider. It felt good, like I was just a solo tourist again. Expecting huge crowds as this is the 50th anniversary of RAGBRAI and we were going into the state capitol, I opted for rail trails into/through the city.  And I was right. As we entered Slater, the first pass-through town, at around 630am, the crowd was overwhelming.  That’s where the rail trail started and I was happy to be done with the crowd.  This is the same trail system that my buddy Scott D took me through a few years back when we toured DesMoines and visited several breweries. Great trail system!!  If you have never been, you should go. Especially if you are a beer lover. DesMoines is a hidden gem of breweries and beer gardens. 

Before leaving town this morning I stopped at my favorite grocery store, HyVee for a chicken wrap and drink. Then I stopped for free watermelon. Then a gas station hot dog and DP.  On trail I found ripe wild plums and I ate at least 6 of those. And I gave in and bought a bag of licorice and ate half of that. Eating my way across Iowa. 

I met a hand cyclist on route before getting to Slater and rode with him for quite a while. Can’t recall his name but he has my card and is interested in a hand cycle that I own. Hopefully he will get in touch. He is tough, to be able to ride this ride on a hand cycle and be able to average 10 mph with all the hills out here. As a reminder…..Iowa aint flat.   Interesting guy…..lives in Denver so rides hills all the time.  I have a problem riding my hand cycle at home and averaging 8-9 mph on the flat lands of Deal Island. 

Staying at a beautiful home in a gated community on a country club golf course. We are very lucky not to have to camp. I feel for all the guys I have met who are also going cross country but having to camp and not have access to showers and AC.  Hang in there guys….. only three more days. 

Not many pics today. 

DesMoines
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 2,276 miles (3,663 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0