Chillin in comfort. - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2023

Chillin in comfort.

I should add some miles to the count since I have ridden all over Creighton checking it out.  I’m holed up just bidding time at the local Community Center which has a nice motel attached. You would never know it was here as it is on the outskirts of town down the street from the schools. If you are touring and need a place to stay, camp or motel, Creighton is a great little town. 

The park has three ball diamonds, several batting cages and play grounds, a pool with showers, a butterfly garden, an inordinate number of electric outlets (they use these to decorate for Christmas), full  rv hookups, lots of shade, picnic tables galore, picnic shelters, grills, trees from all over ( labeled with names), and Berry Pepper……. All you could want. And almost no one using any of it. There were regular walkers every day and someone in the batting cage today but others than that and a few kids in the pool this place is empty. 
The CCC Motel (Creighton Community Center) has 14 rooms including suites and accessible rooms. Each has at least two beds a fridge and microwave, a desk, a breakfast table, large bathroom and AC. For $65 a night you cannot find a nicer motel.  Like new inside. Again, if your cycling this way, check it out!!!

Before I broke camp this morning and headed to get groceries and check in at the motel ( they even let me check in hours early so I could get cleaned up and do my laundry in the laundromat 5 doors down), my 92 year old buddy with the faulty headlight showed up. Found out his name is Elmer (and he kinda looked like the cartoon Elmer). Didn’t catch his last name. He wanted my number so he could call to see how things were going down the road. So I gave him my calling card. He just might call.  I’ll have to go back to get his number but I bet someone in town has it. 

Tasty stuff
Heart 1 Comment 0
My room at the CCC Motel.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Barbara LoganNow you’re talking!! Relax….rest those joints. I am sending my donation today!! Hugs and prayers for your safety!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Barbara LoganThanks you and thanks for asking others to donate. I have informed my friend he may see some donations mailed to him.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Good salad dressing that seems to compete with the Midwests favorite…. Ranch.
Heart 1 Comment 3
David HeisnerJust wondering if you are still going tubeless.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Timothy DaleTo David HeisnerNow that’s funny.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Timothy DaleTo David HeisnerBut if you are serious, no. Tubes. Also swapping out tires in Iowa for narrower more road friendly.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

PS: If you are into Instagram here are three touring folks I have met that post there everyday ( and you though I was the only idiot out here): Chase and his dog Luna……https://instagram.com/_haubibi?igshid=NTc4MTIwNjQ2YQ==

And Scott and Diane or Diane and Scott….https://instagram.com/thelifewe2choose?igshid=NTc4MTIwNjQ2YQ==

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0