BEEEEERRRRRRRIIIIPPPP - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2023

BEEEEERRRRRRRIIIIPPPP

Cowboy Kent Rollins
Heart 1 Comment 0

Cowboy quote of the day:

The quickest way to double your money is to fold it over and put it back into your pocket.

Will Rogers

Best day yet?  Maybe so. Todays journey was from Greybull to Ten Sleep, about 60 miles. You gotta love that name. This was a regular a summer camping spot for native Americans and was ten sleeps (days) from several other areas significant to their nomadic ways. Its a small western town that hasn’t changed much in a hundred years. 

Today, no rain!!!!!!  Winds?  Light breeze that varied as the walls of the canyon/valley directed. I followed the Nowood River using the Nowood Road. I bet some of you guys have been down that road before!!  Anyhow, good shoulder, low traffic, rolling hills, sun, a great camp, and an unexpected meeting…….what more could I ask?

Most of the farms for the first half of the day were pretty run down. It has to be really hard making a living farming here as it is (usually) dry and the earth is rocky. Best I would assume for livestock. The second half of the ride saw an improvement i farms as the river valley is wide with fertile lands along the flood plain. I saw wheat, corn, and beans here. Also some wild sun flowers, cactus, and yucca.  I disturbed a sleeping mule deer and watched a pronghorn prance across the plain. 

The last 15 miles of the day are always the toughest. I don’t think I am eating enough in the mornings though it is hard to eat that much. I nibble on snacks all day and stop for lunch. Todays lunch, chicken from a pouch on tortillas.  Also had more hills and a bit of head wind for the last 15 miles. 

Entering Ten Sleep the Ten Sleep Camp is the first thing you see. A neat little private camp with tent/RV sites as well as cabins…..and best of all, the sheep wagon. These were used back in the day to house sheep ranchers as they moved the flock from grazing area to grazing area. I lucked out and got this one for $30. Only $10 more than the grassy tent site nearby and no tent yoga!!!!  Sleeping bag calisthenics however will be featured later tonight as bed linens would cost extra.  Pretty good deal if you ask me. 

I rode around town taking some photos and noticed a sign for a book signing by one of my favorite YouTubers…..Cowboy Kent Rollins. There was no date mentioned and this being Sunday I was sure I missed it. But I headed to the library anyway and WOW, he was there!!!!  What a great surprise!!!  Got my picture taken with him AND they had FREEEEEEE FOOOOOD!!!!!  I am in cycle touring heaven.  30 bucks for all that!!!!!!  And no tent!!!!  Life is good. 

To top it off back at camp I met an 80 year old gentleman who makes the most amazing western saddles!!  Hand carves custom designs.  Beautiful work. I had the pleasure of sitting with him on the front porch of the camp office and talking about everything from Nam to Indians. He served in Viet Nam in 65-66 when Johnson had just doomed our boys to that useless war.  He was wounded but came home alive to work in a uranium and then  a coal mine, in spite of his 100% disability. He has severe lung disease from his years mining and is generally beat up and falling apart (barely able to walk with his cane, arthritic hands and wrists, poor vision , short of breath on walking just a few feet) but his artistry in leather is truly amazing. I also agree with his political views 100% so he is alright in my book. 

Tomorrow?  I have a 9200 foot mountain pass to climb. I am at about 3600 feet today, though today has been an up and down day with about 2500 feet of climbing total.   The good thing is I have been riding parallel to the Big Horn range all day and they seem to be getting shorter. North of here the peaks are snow covered and I was sure the pass I would traverse was going to go that way.  So wish me luck. Tomorrow night I hope to be in Buffalo WY and need to visit a bike shop for more of that slippery Butt Butter. Nearly out.

Oh, what is BEEEEERRRRRRRIIIIPPPP?  That’s the sound of Surly Extraterrestrial 29x2.5 bike tires going over yet another cattle guard at 25 mph. 

I’ll post pics I a bit. 

Speakeasy Historic Hotel Greybull
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

A tunnel once ran under the street to the speakeasy where liquor was secreted. 

History in stone
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Basin WY
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m glad they set aside an entire area just for the learning disabled cows.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Basin
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cattle guards
Heart 2 Comment 0
I woke this guy up
Heart 2 Comment 0
Old pioneer home?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Home
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Saddle art
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

This guy makes his own leather carving tools. 

Heart 3 Comment 0
Artists workshop
Heart 2 Comment 0
Blurry saddle maker
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 1,109 miles (1,785 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0