The Gear - A Short Ride? - CycleBlaze

May 6, 2011

The Gear

The Bike: It's a rebirthed vintage (1987)Kuwahara mountain bike, made from lugged triple butted chrome moly. I've hand built it, bit by bit. The crank and rear derailer are Shimano LX. The wheels are 26" / 36 spoked Velocity Synergies on Shimano XT hubs. They were hand built by Sat at Quantum Bikes here in Perth. Bikes I can build, touring wheels, I leave to the pros. It's shod with Schwalbe Marathon XR tyres. I sit on a Brooks B67 saddle. I think it will be a worthy steed.

The Panniers: I'm using Topeak Super Tourist DX racks, on both the front (yes they fit fine) and the back. Front and rear panniers are Ortlieb Rollers. Handlebar bag is also Ortlieb - all shiny yellow and black that hopefully all the drivers can spot from a distance.

The Camping Gear: An assortment of stuff, the most noteworty being the Henry Shire's Scarp 2 tent. The rest is a bunch of stuff collected over the years.

The Technology: A mobile phone and a small Toshiba laptop computer should do it. Can't forget the camera (small cheap Canon digital) and the Kindle. That's more than enough.

I might revisit this page later and do a bit of reviewing/feedback on the gear.

Check the Summary Page last entry for a gear review.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0