Introduction: A long time in gestation - A Short Ride? - CycleBlaze

May 5, 2011

Introduction: A long time in gestation

I've been planning this trip for a couple of years now. There's always been a reason (several even), all very legitimate, to postpone the ride. I've run out of excuses, or to be more accurate, really feel like I'm running out of time and if I don't do it now, it will never get done.

I love travel. I started when I was about 16, hitchhiking around California and the western US, hiking in the mountains and just enjoying the outdoors. I shall avoid getting into geo-politics, but let it suffice to say that in my early 20's I felt a bit underwhemed with politics in the US and thought I'd get out there and see what the rest of the world was like. I liked what I found and eventually settled in New Zealand and then Perth, Western Australia (my wife's home town).

I had done some bike riding in the states and some cycle touring in the UK in my youth (I'm not really that old!!) and was keen to do some more. Perth is a long way from anywhere - they say it's the most remote capital city in the world. If you're going cycle tourning here, by definition it probably won't be a short ride....

Point the bike east and start pedalling.

Actually, I think I'll be pointing the bike South for starters and then East towards Esperance - my first goal. If I'm still in the mood, then I'll point the bike due north to Norsman and from there across the Nullabor Plain heading for Adelaide, South Australia.

I doubt I'll be getting that far though as I'm a month behind schedule. Fukushima earthquakes and inflamed tonsils have meant a early May instead of early April start. One of my kids was in the earthquake (teaching in Fukushima prefecture) and the other had her tonsils out. On the bright side, one now glows in the dark and is easy to find and the other can swallow without difficulty.

Let's see how far we get...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0